Research Guides : Human Rights Legal Research Guide: Country Reports

Reports by Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)

National Human Rights Institutions

A National Human Rights Institution (NHRI) is a body established by a national government under the constitution, or by law or decree, and functions to promote and protect human rights in that country. NHRI assist nations in compiling human rights reports that are used by treaty and other UN bodies.

Compiled Reports

Reports by Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

To support the work of intergovernmental institutions, many nongovernmental organizations prepare country reports which document the human rights situation in a particular country or region of the world. Below are a number of good sources for country reports.

This is unique collection is produced by over 355 non-governmental human rights organization throughout the world.

HRI Human Rights Documents

Center for Justice and International Law
Monitors and litigates human rights violations in the Latin American region. Search publications by country, region or issues.
Human Rights First
Advocates to promote human rights throughout the world with a principal focus on crimes against humanity, discrimination, human rights defenders, refugees, and security. Search resources by topic.
International Center for Transitional Justice
The International Center for Transitional Justice works for justice in countries that have endured massive human rights abuses under repression and in conflict. Provides current reporting on post-conflict justice issues. Search by country, region, issue, and other publications.
International Commission of Jurists (ICJ)
A prestigious NGO holding consultative status with many intergovernmental organizations, ICJ provides legal analysis and litigation tools to promote human rights protection around the world. Search by regions, countries, themes and publications.
International Federation for Human Rights
A federation of 192 non-profit organization from around the world that investigates and litigates human rights abuses in the international criminal justice system. Search by region, country or issues.
International Justice Resource Center (IJRC)
Includes factsheets summarizing the regional and universal human rights commitments of United Nations (UN) Member States, including the treaties each State has ratified, the complaints mechanisms it has accepted, examples of significant human rights complaints against the State, and whether it has extended a standing invitation to UN special procedures.
OMCT - World Against Torture
The OMCT is an NGO coalition helping victims seek justice and seeking accountability. Provides a listing of individual cases as well as resources searchable by country.
Redress
REDRESS assists survivors of torture and related international crimes to seek justice and other forms of reparation. Main activities focuses on litigation and policy advocacy. Resources include a database of active cases around the world and publications database searchable by keyword, issue, and country.

These directories are useful tools in locating human rights non-government organizations worldwide.

If you are looking for specific information written by any human rights organization, use these search engines that will search many organizations simultaneously.

Reports Produced by the United States

United States