Research Guides : Animal Law: Research Resources

Animal Law & Welfare Blogs

Advocacy for Animals
Supporting world-wide efforts to ensure the humane treatment of animals, develop scientific understanding of their nature, and protect the natural environment
Ag & Food Law Blog - Animal Law
Section of a larger blog from the National Agricultural Law Association dealing with animal law issues
Ag & Food Law Blog - Animal Welfare
Section of a larger blog from the National Agricultural Law Association dealing with animal welfare issues
All Animals Matter (last updated 2012)
Animal welfare blog browsable by topic, including animal cruelty, testing, circus, farm animals, puppy mills, seal hunt, dog fur, reptiles, and more.
Animal Blawg (last updated 2021)
Focuses on animal law, ethics and policy, providing a forum for debate and the exchange of ideas; maintained by David N. Cassuto, Pace Law School.
Animal Ethics (last updated 2021)
Philosophical discussion of the moral status of nonhuman animals.
Animal Law Blog (last updated 2014)
An attorney's observations and analysis of animal law news and legislation, criminal cases, and links to other animal resources.
Animal Legal Defense Fund Blog
The ALDF has been fighting for over 30 years to protect the lives and advance the interests of animals through the legal system; blog posts highlight the groups advocacy efforts in filing lawsuits, legal assistance, strengthening anti-cruelty legislation.
Animal Rights: The Abolitionist Approach
Focuses on veganism as the moral baseline of animal activism and the means to the end of the exploitation of animals; by Rutgers University School of Law Professor and author Gary L. Francione.
Animal Wire - IFAW
Blog of the International Fund For Animal Welfare.
Animals & Politics
By Michael Markarian and published by the Humane Society Legislative Fund, this blog highlights legislation for animals; sections for research animals, farm animals, wildlife, equines, and pets.
ASPCA Blog
Official blog of the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.
Best Friends
Topics on the welfare of companion animals, from the Best Friends Animal Society.
Center for Animal Law Studies Blog
News and features from Lewis & Clark Law School.
Companion Animal Law Blog (last updated 2014)
By Heidi Meinzer, an attorney who represents dog owners facing dangerous dog proceedings, pet care companies, aids in the prosecution of animal hoarding & neglect, and advises rescue organizations.
Critical Animal
James K. Stanescu writes about his academic interests in critical animal studies, environmental philosophy. and ethical theory.
Endangered Species Law & Policy
Nationally recognized Nossaman law firm attorneys blog about natural resources conflicts between federal and state agencies and the environmental community.
Equine Law Blog (last updated 2022)
Dedicated to educating the horse industry about laws, legal developments, and "fine points" of the law; by Julie Fershtman, a leading attorney in equine law.
Kindred Animality (last updated 2010)
Addresses the nature of the human and nonhuman animal condition through animal behavior, learning & philosophy. Includes animal advocacy and rescue.
Nathan J. Winograd
Focuses on advocacy for no-kill animal shelters, by attorney, author & animal activist Nathan Winograd.
Our Hen House (last updated 2020)
Compiles suggestions for animal activism, featuring multimedia resources that can be used to change the world for animals.

Treatises on Animal Law

Comprehensive research starts here! Broad scope and analysis of your topic, abundant citations to primary sources, and commentary and practice tips from experts in the field!

Animals and the Law: A Sourcebook by Curnutt, Jordan
Call Number: KF390.A5 C87 2001
ISBN: 1576071472
Publication Date: 2001-11-02
Offers a comprehensive overview of the legislation and legal issues surrounding animals. Written by Jordan Curnutt, Animals, and the Law covers everything from the Silver Spring monkeys, subjects in the first U.S. lab raided by police where criminal charges were filed against a scientist conducting federally funded research, to sex with animals. Also included are appendixes of animal organizations, cases, statutes and regulations, and an extensive bibliography.
Animal Law: Welfare, Interests, and Rights by Favre, David S.
Call Number: KF390.5.A5 F38 2008
ISBN: 9780735573123
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
This innovative book explores the emerging area of animal rights law. Animal Law: Welfare, Interest, and Rights asks the question: What are the arguments for animal rights as a matter of philosophy and law? The author covers over 100 years of legal history regarding animal rights, beginning in 1867 with the adoption of the New York Anti-Cruelty Law. Materials are presented to highlight the animal issues that people most commonly face, including ownership, sales, divorce, recovery for damages for harm to animals, and providing for animals in wills.

Databases For Animal Law Research

Greenfile
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open-access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Environmental Science Collection - ProQuest
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides coverage of the environmental sciences from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to primary and secondary legal materials, business and news information. Password required, access limited to FSU law students and law faculty.
Westlaw Edge (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to primary and secondary legal materials, business and news information. Password required, access limited to FSU law students and law faculty.

Note that Lexis and Westlaw require passwords to access and are provided only to current law students. Both databases have Environmental Law sections that can be used to research animal law topics.

Animal Law Journals (Online)

Animal Law, 1995-2022 (HeinOnline)
Animal Law Review (Lewis & Clark University)
1994-present
Anthrozoos (Academic OneFile)
Full text through 2010, indexed to 2016
Animal & Natural Resources Law Review (HeinOnline)
2005-2021
Journal of Animal Law & Ethics, 2006-2009 (HeinOnline)
Society and Animals, 1999-current
Many articles open access from publisher
Stanford Journal of Animal Law and Policy, 2008-2014 (HeinOnline)

Animal Law: Research Resources

Animal Law & Welfare Blogs

Treatises on Animal Law

Databases For Animal Law Research

Animal Law Journals (Online)

Animal Law Journals (Print)

Animal Law Report

Journal for Critical Animal Studies

Available via "UBorrow" from FAMU, FIU, or FGCU

Journal of Animal Law and Environmental Law

Available via "UBorrow" from USF