Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and other Materials
Oxford Art Online
Access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Includes The Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), the Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA), and the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN).
Humanities Arts Databases
IFAR Law & Cultural Property Database
Resource for current data on legal issues ranging from fraud and forgery to ownership, provenance, valuation, and appraisal regarding art objects and cultural properties.
Digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Art Index Retrospective
Covers 1929-1984; 1929 -1984; provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
"[I]ncludes more than 210 unique full-text journals not previously available in any database.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
"[C]omprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration."
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
"[P]rovides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art . . . [e]ntries date back as far as the late 1960s. . . . It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends.
AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation LIterature
"[O]nline database of abstracts of worldwide literature related to the management and conservation of international material cultural heritage from 1932 forward."
International Bibliography of Art
Covers European art since late antiquity, American art since the colonial period, global art since 1945, fine art in all media, decorative arts and antiques, Museum Studies and Conservation, archaeology and material culture, folk art, and architectural history.
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
Online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) - Full Text
Draws its content from 130+ international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries; indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post (1998 - present, plus 89,464 retrospective citations from 46 periodicals, dating back to 1864). Coverage: dance, theater, film, mime, opera, puppetry, radio, television, storytelling, video, and performance art.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. Covers articles, art notes, stories, illustrations, poems and advertisements from these periodicals.
SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs
Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held; contains 300,000 records.