Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books from the Catalog
The Healthcare Executive's Simple Guide to FMV for Attorneys, C-Suite, Compliance, and Physicians by This guide will help healthcare executives navigate nearly every type of fair market value (FMV) opinion for transactions and compensation agreements. Readers will be able to quickly access pertinent material to help better understand and ensure a sound FMV analysis. The Guide covers: - Current regulatory environment and guidance behind FMV - What to ask when engaging an appraiser to help ensure you will get a defensible opinion - Value drivers behind over 20 of the most common facility transactions and agreement types - Checklist when reviewing a FMV opinion and the Commercially Reasonable standard
Call Number: KF2907.F3 H43 2017
Publication Date: 2018-02-07
Administrative Law of Health Care in a Nutshell by This Nutshell addresses the administrative law governing the financing and delivery of health care. Administrative law governs the administrative operations of government agencies. It sets the powers that administrative agencies may exercise, establishes the legal principles governing the exercise of those powers, and provides legal remedies to those aggrieved by the actions of agencies. State and federal agencies are deeply involved in the financing and delivery of health care. They address public health, licensure of professionals and facilities and financing health care services through public health insurance programs. The reach of administrative law governing state and federal healthcare agencies is immense and immensely important to the financing and delivery of American health care.
Call Number: KF3821.K566 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-23
Health Law by Expert authors present an up-to-date overview of health law as it affects the professionals, institutions, and entities that deliver and finance health care in the United States. Considers the law's response to quality and error through institutional and professional regulation, and malpractice litigation against professionals, hospitals, and managed care organizations. Surveys tax, corporate, and organizational issues. Explores the government's efforts to control costs and expand access through Medicare and Medicaid. Examines government attempts to police anticompetitive activities, fraud, and abuse. And considers the legal and ethical issues involving death, human reproduction, medical treatment decision making, and medical research. The Affordable Care Act, HIPAA, HITECH, and other new statutory and regulatory changes of the past few years are thoroughly incorporated in all aspects of the legal discussion.
Call Number: KF3821.H4343 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
Infectious Disease by Infectious Disease Policy Law, and Regulation looks at litigation regarding infection-related illnesses and their compensation. The claim arises from an individual victim who attempts to prove that the cause of their specific infection was the negligent act of an entity that is a vector of their type of illness, such as a hospital, surgeon, restaurant or retail marketplace."
Call Number: KF3800.O74 2015
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Health Law by This abridged edition continues to use the broad organization that health law teachers and students found so helpful in the last six editions. Notes material has been trimmed substantially and some cases and sections of the primary casebook have been deleted. The authors' goal was to create a book better suited for schools that have curricular space for only one course, including medical schools and schools of public health.
Call Number: KF3821.H435 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-27
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction is also known as CALI. The organization is best known in law schools for CALI Lessons which are online interactive tutorials on legal subjects. To register you'll need the CALI authorization code, contact Katie Crandall.
You may sign-up, using your FSU email address, for Quimbee here. Quimbee provides many lessons, tutorials and a large bank of practice questions. As a Florida State University Law student it is provided to you for free.
What is OneSearch?
OneSearch is a discovery tool that searches across the majority of our books, journals, articles, and more. It can also be used to search for material outside of our collections! It’s a great starting point for your research, and can be used to drill down to very specific resources.
Online Tools for Research
Compliance and Enforcement of Environmental Law by The Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law is a landmark reference work, providing definitive and comprehensive coverage of this dynamic field. Each volume probes the key elements of law, the essential concepts, and the latest research through concise, structured entries written by international experts. Each entry includes an extensive bibliography as a starting point for further reading. The mix of authoritative commentary and insightful discussion will make this an essential tool for research and teaching, as well as a valuable resource for professionals and policymakers.Countries throughout the world have adopted increasingly comprehensive environmental laws over recent years. Even so, immense challenges remain to achieve desired sustainability outcomes. One of the key problems in bridging the gap between legal requirements and sustainability outcomes is deficiencies in compliance and enforcement programs. Compliance and Enforcement of Environmental Law, one of the constituent volumes in the Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law, brings together leading experts to provide a detailed overview of critical issues associated with assuring compliance with environmental laws. The expert entries are structured around key topics, including: compliance promotion, private governance, common law causes of action, writing enforceable rules, monitoring and reporting requirements, administrative enforcement, civil judicial enforcement, assessment of civil penalties, and criminal liability. The book addresses efforts to maximize the value of limited resources and evaluate the effectiveness of relevant tools. It also reviews both regulatory and non-regulatory compliance mechanisms. Each entry includes a detailed bibliography to facilitate more in-depth research.Providing a broad overview, concise explanations and avenues for research, this assessment of environmental law compliance and enforcement is an indispensable tool for students, academics and practitioners.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2017-05-26
Occupational Safety and Health Law by Safety and health law before the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 -- Legislative history of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 -- The duty to comply with standards -- The general duty clause -- Employer obligations to develop, maintain, and disseminate information -- Affirmative defenses -- Inspections and citations -- The warrant requirement in OSHA inspections -- Types and degrees of violations -- Civil penalties and criminal sanctions -- OSHRC procedure and adjudication -- Judicial review of enforcement proceedings -- Development of OSHA standards -- Judicial interpretations of OSHA's standard-setting authority -- Procedural issues and judicial review -- Variances -- Rights of workers and their representatives -- Discrimination against employees for health and safety activities -- State regulation of occupational safety and health -- State regulation of occupational safety and health -- The Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 -- National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health -- Relationship of the OSH act to other federal laws and agencies -- The OSH act, workers'compensation, and workplace tort liability -- The Americans with Disabilities Act and the Family and Medical Leave Act.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Politics of Precaution by The Politics of Precaution examines the politics of consumer and environmental risk regulation in the United States and Europe over the last five decades, explaining why America and Europe have often regulated a wide range of similar risks differently. It finds that between 1960 and 1990, American health, safety, and environmental regulations were more stringent, risk averse, comprehensive, and innovative than those adopted in Europe. But since around 1990, the book shows, global regulatory leadership has shifted to Europe. What explains this striking reversal? David Vogel takes an in-depth, comparative look at European and American policies toward a range of consumer and environmental risks, including vehicle air pollution, ozone depletion, climate change, beef and milk hormones, genetically modified agriculture, antibiotics in animal feed, pesticides, cosmetic safety, and hazardous substances in electronic products. He traces how concerns over such risks--and pressure on political leaders to do something about them--have risen among the European public but declined among Americans. Vogel explores how policymakers in Europe have grown supportive of more stringent regulations while those in the United States have become sharply polarized along partisan lines. And as European policymakers have grown more willing to regulate risks on precautionary grounds, increasingly skeptical American policymakers have called for higher levels of scientific certainty before imposing additional regulatory controls on business.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2012-04-29