Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books from the Catalog
Understanding Criminal Law by This comprehensive and clearly written Understanding treatise is frequently cited by scholars and courts in their analysis of substantive criminal law, and has been a popular source of assistance to criminal law students for the past quarter century. Understanding Criminal Law is designed to be taught in conjunction with any casebook. The topics covered are those most often raised in criminal law casebooks, and coverage of these subjects is meant to complement professors' classroom discussions. The text focuses on the basic elements of, and defenses to, all crimes; provides in-depth coverage of such crimes as homicide, rape, and theft; and covers other important topics covered in the Criminal Law course, such as accomplice and inchoate liability. Understanding Criminal Law also covers theories of punishment, sources of the criminal law, and overarching principles such as legality and proportionality. The common law is emphasized with extensive comparisons to the Model Penal Code and modern statutes. This edition offers the most significant updating ever, including coverage of quickly-changing legal areas, such as sexual assault and self-defense law. Recent and ongoing revisions to the Model Penal Code are also covered.
Call Number: KF9219.D74 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
Principles of Criminal Law by Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Call Number: KF9219.3.L34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Judicial Process in America by The book considers judges, lawyers, and litigants, as well as the variables at play in judicial decision making. In this Tenth Edition, the authors examine the recent Supreme Court rulings on same-sex marriage and health care subsidies, the effect of three women justices on the Court's patterns of decision, and the policy-making role of state tribunals. Original data on the decision-making behaviour of the Obama trial judges--which are unavailable anywhere else--ensure this text's position as a standard bearer in the field. New to This Edition Comprehensive analysis of court dynamics, including the impact of three women on the U.S. Supreme Court; Chief Justice John G. Roberts' leadership on the Supreme Court; the new Attorney General of the United States, Loretta Lynch; the voting patterns of Democrats and Republicans on the trial court bench; and the decisional patterns of the Obama appointees. New coverage of current topics: Gay and lesbian rights, including analysis of Obergefell v. Hodges The Hobby Lobby case and judicial lobbying The trial of the Boston Marathon bomber The legality of the use of drones at home and abroad The legal implications of disclosures by Edward Snowden via WikiLeaks The Supreme Court decisions on the Affordable Care Act The legal ramifications of the use of the Confederate battle flag by government entities Issues of immigration and deportations, including the so-called Dreamers
Call Number: KF8700.C37 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-14
Locked In by "Pfaff, let there be no doubt, is a reformer...Nonetheless, he believes that the standard story--popularized in particular by Michelle Alexander, in her influential book, The New Jim Crow--is false. We are desperately in need of reform, he insists, but we must reform the right things, and address the true problem." --Adam Gopnik, The New Yorker A groundbreaking examination of our system of imprisonment, revealing the true causes of mass incarceration as well as the best path to reform In the 1970s, the United States had an incarceration rate comparable to those of other liberal democracies-and that rate had held steady for over 100 years. Yet today, though the US is home to only about 5 percent of the world's population, we hold nearly one quarter of its prisoners. Mass incarceration is now widely considered one of the biggest social and political crises of our age. How did we get to this point? Locked In is a revelatory investigation into the root causes of mass incarceration by one of the most exciting scholars in the country. Having spent fifteen years studying the data on imprisonment, John Pfaff takes apart the reigning consensus created by Michelle Alexander and other reformers, revealing that the most widely accepted explanations-the failed War on Drugs, draconian sentencing laws, an increasing reliance on private prisons-tell us much less than we think. Pfaff urges us to look at other factors instead, including a major shift in prosecutor behavior that occurred in the mid-1990s, when prosecutors began bringing felony charges against arrestees about twice as often as they had before. He describes a fractured criminal justice system, in which counties don't pay for the people they send to state prisons, and in which white suburbs set law and order agendas for more-heavily minority cities. And he shows that if we hope to significantly reduce prison populations, we have no choice but to think differently about how to deal with people convicted of violent crimes-and why some people are violent in the first place. An authoritative, clear-eyed account of a national catastrophe, Locked In transforms our understanding of what ails the American system of punishment and ultimately forces us to reconsider how we can build a more equitable and humane society.
Call Number: HV9471.P449 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Comprehensive Criminal Procedure by Buy anew versionof this Connected Casebook and receiveaccessto theonline e-book,practice questionsfrom your favorite study aids, and anoutline toolon CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. Comprehensive Criminal Procedureis a casebook for all introductory courses in criminal procedure law (including both investigation and adjudication courses, as well as comprehensive and survey courses). The casebook focuses primarily on constitutional criminal procedure law, but also covers relevant statutes and court rules. The casebook is deliberately challenging--it is designed for teachers who want to explore deeply not only the contemporary state of the law, but also its historical and theoretical foundations. The casebook incorporates a particular emphasis on empirical knowledge about the real-world impacts of law-in-action; the significance of race and class; the close relationship between criminal procedure law and substantive criminal law; the cold reality that hard choices sometimes must be made in a world of limited criminal justice resources; and, finally, the recognition that criminal procedure law always should strive to achieve both fairness to the accused and justice for society as a whole. New to the Fourth Edition: We have added a wonderful new co-author, Yale Professor TraceyMeares, whose special expertise in the law and policy of police investigations has enriched the casebook tremendously. The Introduction chapter has been updated with a number of new scholarly writings that provide an overview of important aspects of criminal procedure law. The Right to Counsel chapter incorporates the new wave of structural reform litigation over the often-crushing caseloads and frequently inadequate resources of public defender offices; the chapter has also been completely reorganized for clarity and ease of teaching. The chapter on Boyd v. United States has been revised in light of the recent apparent revival of at least some aspects of that decision, and its newfound relevance to contemporary criminal procedure law. The Fourth and Fifth Amendment chapters, together with the chapter on Complex Investigations, have been completely rewritten to reflect the latest legal, social, and empirical developments in such important areas as police discretion (including stop-and-frisk and police use of force) and data searches (including searches of cell phones and e-mails, GPS and other forms of location monitoring, government investigative use of digital records, and legal protections for computer passwords and encryption keys). The Jury and the Criminal Trial chapter has been revised to include the latest developments concerning the Confrontation Clause and the continuing evolution of the Crawford doctrine. The Sentencing chapter has been updated to include the most recent of the Supreme Court''s line of Apprendi/Blakely/Booker decisions. All chapters in the casebook have been updated wherever necessary, and all have been re-edited and streamlined to improve theirteachability. CasebookConnectfeatures: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions fromExamples & Explanations,Emanuel Law Outlines,Emanuel Law in a Flashflashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.
Call Number: KF9618.C66 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Free Market Criminal Justice by Free Market Criminal Justice explains how faith in democratic politics and free markets has undermined the rule of law in US criminal process. America's unique political development, characterized by skepticism of government power, has restrained the state's role not only in the economic realmbut also in key parts of its criminal justice systems. From charging decisions through trials or guilty pleas and appeals, legal safeguards against bias, wrongful convictions, and excessive punishment rely more on politics and laissez-faire economic ideas than on enforceable rules and duties.Prosecutorial discretion is checked not by legal standards but by popular elections, and plea bargaining law is wholly built on a faith in unregulated markets - in contrast to the systems in other common law countries that also have neoliberal economies, adversarial process, and high guilty plearates.This book argues that democratic and market ideas have led to more partisan prosecutors, narrower duties of evidence disclosure, and to a right to defense counsel that carefully accommodates preexisting wealth inequalities. Most important, democratic and market values have diminished theresponsibility of judges - and of the state itself - for the accuracy and integrity of court judgments. Paradoxically, skepticism of government has expanded state power, reduced checks on executive officials, marginalized juries, and contributed to record incarceration rates. In contrast to recentarguments for re-invigorating democracy in criminal process, Free Market Criminal Justice argues that, to strengthen the rule of law, US criminal justice needs less democracy, fewer market mechanisms, and more law.
Call Number: KF9223.B76 2015
Publication Date: 2016-01-21
The Future of Crime and Punishment by Today, we know that crime is often not just a matter of making bad decisions. Rather, there are a variety of factors that are implicated in much criminal offending, some fairly obvious like poverty, mental illness, and drug abuse and others less so, such as neurocognitive problems. Today, we have the tools for effective criminal behavioral change, but this cannot be an excuse for criminal offending. In The Future of Crime and Punishment, William R. Kelly identifies the need to educate the public on how these tools can be used to most effectively and cost efficiently reduce crime, recidivism, victimization and cost. The justice system of the future needs to be much more collaborative, utilizing the expertise of a variety of disciplines such as psychology, psychiatry, addiction, and neuroscience. Judges and prosecutors are lawyers, not clinicians, and as we transition the justice system to a focus on behavioral change, the decision making will need to reflect the input of clinical experts. The path forward is one characterized largely by change from traditional criminal prosecution and punishment to venues that balance accountability, compliance, and risk management with behavioral change interventions that address the primary underlying causes for recidivism. There are many moving parts to this effort and it is a complex proposition. It requires substantial changes to law, procedure, decision making, roles and responsibilities, expertise, and funding. Moreover, it requires a radical shift in how we think about crime and punishment. Our thinking needs to reflect a perspective that crime is harmful, but that much criminal behavior is changeable.
Call Number: HV9950.K454 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-14
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction is also known as CALI. The organization is best known in law schools for CALI Lessons which are online interactive tutorials on legal subjects. To register you'll need the CALI authorization code, contact Katie Crandall.
You may sign-up, using your FSU email address, for Quimbee here. Quimbee provides many lessons, tutorials and a large bank of practice questions. As a Florida State University Law student it is provided to you for free.
What is OneSearch?
OneSearch is a discovery tool that searches across the majority of our books, journals, articles, and more. It can also be used to search for material outside of our collections! It’s a great starting point for your research, and can be used to drill down to very specific resources.
Online Tools for Research