It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Immigration and Refugee Law and Policy by Stephen Legomsky; Cristina RodriguezSince its initial publication in 1992, the book has been adopted at 183 U.S. law schools. It mixes theory, policy, and politics with practice-oriented materials that deal in doctrine, planning, and problem-solving. Legomsky and Rodr#65533;guez make heavy use of policy analysis, fact problems, and simulation exercises. The new edition incorporates the sweeping changes of the past five years. Highlights include: Discussion of DACA and the dramatic November 2014 executive actions Analysis of the legal limits and policy implications of prosecutorial discretion and other Obama Administration executive actions Discussion of comprehensive legislative immigration reform efforts, including S.744 A new section on vulnerable children, addressing UAC, special immigrant juveniles, child asylum issues, and children's use of T and U visas, with specific discussion of the current Central American UAC issues and 2014 opinion of the Inter-American Court A completely re-written section on same-sex marriages, to reflect Windsor, Zeleniak, and Administration implementation initiatives Entirely rewritten section on asylum claims based on particular social group, to reflect the recent BIA decisions in M-E-V-G- and W-G-R- (concerning the social distinction and particularity requirements), the BIA's 2014 landmark domestic violence decision in A-R-C-G-, and related developments on gender-based asylum claims A completely rewritten section on crimmigration generally, the crime-related deportability grounds, and the categorical and modified categorical approaches, to reflect the Supreme Court's recent decisions in Moncrieffe and Descamps, lower court decisions such as Silva-Trevino, and the 2014 BIA decision in Dominguez-Rodriguez The addition of an extended section on federalism and Arizona v. United States in chapter 2 (constitutional foundations), the creation of a new chapter on enforcement that includes discussion of Secure Communities (now PEP), 287(g), non-cooperation laws, and detention, and a reorganization and streamlining of chapter 12 (undocumented immigrants), to accommodate these changes New developments on in-state tuition for undocumented students New developments on drivers' licenses for undocumented residents New material on advance parole, Arrabally, 601A provisional unlawful presence waivers, and parole in place MAVNI renewal and extension to DACA recipients New developments on Padilla New avenues for representation for low-income immigrants and refugees The Supreme Court's Cuellar de Osorio decision on the Child Status Protection Act New developments on EB-5, particularly with respect to regional centers Material concerning work permits for H-4 nonimmigrants New material on the Adam Walsh Act Discussion of dramatic increases in credible fear interviews and Administration responses Discussion of the asylum clock litigation and its effect on work authorization Material on FOIA litigation involving asylum officer interview notes Important recent court decisions on temporary protected status New developments on in-country renunciation of U.S. citizenship Discussion of assisted reproductive technology (ART) and its effects on both immigration and citizenship law
Refugee Law and Policy by Karen Musalo; Jennifer Moore; Richard A. BoswellThe fourth edition of Refugee Law and Policy, which includes all legal developments through mid-2010, provides a thoughtful scholarly analysis of refugee law, and related protections such as those available under the Convention against Torture. The book is rooted in an international law perspective, enhanced by a comparative approach. Starting with ancient precursors to asylum, the casebook portrays refugee law as dynamic across time and cultural contexts. This edition of the casebook has incorporated substantial new materials on the cutting edge area of social group claims, and their relevance to claims for protection based on gender-persecution and LGBT status. It includes an extensive discussion of the concept of social visibility which has become one of the most controversial interpretive issues in U.S. refugee law. Although Refugee Law and Policy is directed to students of U.S. law, it draws on the legislation, jurisprudence and guidelines of other Refugee Convention and Protocol signatories, including Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. The casebook is up to date on developments to harmonize refugee policy within the European Union, and includes discussion of relevant E.U. directives. In its treatment of both U.S. and global trends, Refugee Law and Policy examines and contrasts some of the most controversial contemporary issues in refugee law, such as the denial of access to the territory of the country of asylum, through use of expedited removal and similar accelerated procedures, the increased use of detention, and the ongoing debate over gender-based claims for protection. Refugee Law and Policy also compares current trends in refugee law to parallel trends in human rights and humanitarian and international criminal law, with special reference to the work of the International Criminal Tribunals for Yugoslavia and Rwanda, and the International Criminal Court. The materials Musalo, Moore and Boswell present in the book are more fully examined through the extensive use of notes and comments, which also serve to highlight essential themes and concepts of the text and to make them more accessible to the reader. Since the casebook addresses both substance and procedure, with a focus on practice as well as theory, it is an excellent text not only for students, but for practitioners and those in government agencies as well.
Refugees, Asylum Seekers and the Rule of Law by Susan Kneebone (Editor)Contributors to this volume examine how the legislative, executive and administrative arms of government have responded to issues concerning the rights and status of refugees and asylum seekers in five common law jurisdictions: the UK, Australia, Canada, the USA and New Zealand. Who and what determines the legislative agenda in this context? Is the legislative agenda driven by the legislators or by the executive? Where does the 'community' fit into this picture? Together the essays explain the international context for the responses of the jurisdictions, evaluate the responses from a human rights perspective and assess the integrity and coherency of legal responses as shown by their impact on the rule of law.
A good way to start research is to obtain a bibliography
compiled by an expert in the field. Bibliographies offer an oveview of
relevant literature by listing selected books, articles, or documents
on a particular topic.
Library catalogs offer access to a library's collection. Consult these catalogs of worldwide libraries specializing in refugee and asylum law. This will help broaden your search by identifying resources not readily available in your library.