Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technology of Law
Technology is becoming more fully integrated in the practice of law. Here you'll find articles on designing a solo practice or managing a law practice. Information about a leading technology conference is provided. Also included are books available on law office technology, Microsoft Word, Evernote and more.
Articles from the
Social Science Research Network.
Short Articles - Technology
Law & Technology Books
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide by This annual guide is the only one of its kind written to help solo and small firm lawyers find the best technology for their dollar. You'll find the most current information and recommendations on computers, servers, networking equipment, legal software, printers, security products, smartphones, tablets, and anything else a law office might need. It's written in clear, easily understandable language to make implementation easier if you choose to do it yourself, or use it in conjunction with your IT consultant. Either way, you'll learn how to make technology work for you. Topics include: -Updated recommendations on hardware and software for PCs and Macs -Securing your data (even from our own government) -The latest in social media--from an acknowledged social media expert -The evolving smartphone market, and which ones work best for lawyers -The security issues and benefits of cloud computing -Favorite utilities and apps for lawyers -The direction of legal technology in 2017
Call Number: KF320.A9 N45 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Technology Tips for Lawyers and Business Professionals by The importance of technology in our professional and personal lives continues to grow at an ever-increasing rate. Courts have moved toward recognizing a duty for attorneys to acquire a level of basic competence in dealing with technology. The ABA Model Rules have recognized that duty in some areas for several years. Attorneys have learned and are learning that technology can help them practice more efficiently and effectively. Authors Jeffrey Allen and Ashley Hallene have done programs presenting tips on technology and practice for many years in locations all over the country. They have also written about technology for lawyers for many years. They bring these years of experience to Technology Tips for Lawyers and Other Business Professionals, which provides short, concise tips to save you time and point you in the right direction for your technological needs.
Call Number: KF320.A9A429 2016
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Evernote As a Law Practice Tool by This publication will provide legal professionals, with a primary focus on attorneys, with guidance on how to set up, use, and collaborate with Evernote. This publication will take the reader, step by step, through Evernote features. Screenshots will be used to demonstrate, for example, how to create a notebook and add data, as well as how to organize legal work with Evernote. Attention will be paid to the different types of uses for legal professionals (i.e. firm administration, marketing, case research, litigation, forms, client documents). This publication will also address the use of Evernote via mobile devices.
Call Number: KF320.A9A425 2016
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Virtual Law Practice by The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."
Call Number: KF320.A9K56 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
IPad in One Hour for Litigators by iPads have changed the way attorneys present their cases in the courtroom, at mediation, and beyond. But tablet technology changes quickly. What was cutting-edge just months ago could now be outdated enough to damage your case. This updated and revised edition of bestselling ABA author and iPad expert Tom Mighell s iPad in One Hour for Litigators will help you stay informed on the latest hardware and apps that will ensure your iPad is a powerful legal tool. In just one hour, you will learn how to: .Choose the best iPad for a litigation practice .Store and update documents and exhibits .Take, read, and annotate depositions .Conduct legal research before trial, in hearings, or during the trial itself .Discover recommended accessories and apps to use in the courtroom .Select a jury without using a legal pad .Present evidence digitally with ease"
Call Number: KF320.A9M483 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Lawyer's Guide to Microsoft Outlook 2013 by Take control of your e-mail, calendar, to-do list, and more with The Lawyer's Guide to Microsoft Outlook 2013. This essential guide summarizes the most important new features in the newest version of Microsoft Outlook and provides practical tips that will promote organization and productivity in your law practice.
Call Number: KF320.A9S366 2013
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
IPad in One Hour for Lawyers by The bestselling ABA book iPad in One Hour for Lawyers has helped thousands of attorneys learn to use the iPad in their law practices. Fully revised and updated to reflect the newest versions of the iPad and the latest apps available, iPad in One Hour for Lawyers, Third Edition, will help attorneys get more out of their iPad. Ideal for lawyers who want to get up to speed fast, this acclaimed book presents the essentials.
Call Number: http://KF320.A9M478 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Android Apps in One Hour for Lawyers by Lawyers are already using Android devices to make phone calls, check e-mail, and send text messages. This title highlights the best of the best apps that can allow you to practice law from your mobile device.
Call Number: KF320.A9S55 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
The Lawyer's Guide to Microsoft Word 2010 by This handy reference includes clear explanations, legal-specific descriptions, and time-saving tips for getting the most out of Microsoft Word®--and customizing it for the needs of today's legal professional. Focusing on the tools and features that are essential for lawyers in their everyday practice, The Lawyer's Guide to Microsoft® Word 2010 explains in detail the key components to help make you more effective, more efficient, and more successful.
Call Number: KF322.5.M53S363 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
The 2011 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide by This annual guide is the only one of its kind written to help solo and small firm lawyers find the best technology for their dollar. You'll find the most current information and recommendations on computers, servers, networking equipment, legal software, printers, security products, smartphones, the iPad and anything else a law office might need. It's written in clear, easily understandable language to make implementation simpler if you choose to do it yourself, or you can use it in conjunction with your IT consultant.
Call Number: KF320.A9N45 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
Google for Lawyers by This step-by-step guide explores Google's most popular features plus its newest and least-known features, productivity tools, and services.
Call Number: K87.L48 2010
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Technology in the Law Office by For technology in the law office courses Comprehensive Coverage of Law Office Technology Technology in the Law Office is a thorough and up-to-date guide to navigating the constantly changing technology used in the modern-day legal world. Exploring recent phenomenon such as the switch to Apple-based software and paperless offices, this text is the timeliest reference for students, paralegals, and law office workers in regards to law software and technology. Thoroughly updated for this edition, the Goldman Technology Resources Website features links to vendor soft downloads, tutorials, and instructional videos. Students are also provided with a solid background in the ethics and implications of using technology in legal practice, allowing them to not only understand how to use such technology, but how to use it correctly and justly. Also Available with CourseConnect with the Virtual Law Office Experience This edition is also available with a CourseConnect Online Course for Technology in the Law Office. The CourseConnect Online Course now includes Virtual Law Office Experience modules. The modules place the student in the position of working in a law office, allowing them to put technology into practice. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with the CourseConnect Online Course, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Publication Date: 2014-12-29
Microsoft Word 2013 for Law Firms by Focusing only on those features of Microsoft Word 2013 that are relevant to the legal community, this updated edition of the Payne Group’s market-leading guide to Word provides industry-specific information about the computer program that will help legal professionals operate effectively and efficiently in their environment. A companion website also includes customized legal templates and documents, hands-on exercises, and practice files, among many other services. Whether they are using Word for the first time or simply updating to the most recent version, readers will find all of the information they’ll need to increase their productivity and make the most out of Microsoft’s word processing program in this expert manual.
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Formatting Legal Documents with Microsoft Word 2010 by This book helps legal staff use Microsoft Word 2010 to prepare pleadings, contracts, and other complex documents. The author, a computer trainer with extensive experience as a legal word processor, starts by describing what's new and different in this version of Word. She then examines Word's "logic," the key to mastering the program. She offers tips for making Word 2010 work more like older versions, customizing the Ribbon and the Quick Access Toolbar, and using keyboard shortcuts. She explains everyday features such as headers and footers, automatic numbering, indents, and footnotes and gives step-by-step instructions for working with case captions, inserting a pleading footer, aligning text with pleading line numbers, setting up a style for indented quotes, creating and generating a Table of Contents and a Table of Authorities, tracking changes, and comparing documents. In addition, she touches on the issues of metadata removal and document corruption. The book is filled with pragmatic tips, tricks, and workarounds.
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
Internet Legal Research on a Budget by With cost-conscious clients scrutinizing legal bills, lawyers cannot afford to depend on expensive legal research databases, especially when reliable free resources are available. Internet Legal Research on a Budget will help you quickly find the best free or low-cost resources online and use them for your research needs. The authors share the top websites, apps, blogs, Twitter feeds, and crowdsourced resources that will save you time, money, and frustration during the research process.
Call Number: KF242.A1L479 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-07
At the ABA Techshow lawyers and legal professionals meet to learn about new and practical technologies.