Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Practice, Management, and Technology: Cloud Storage and Security

This research guide identifies both online and print resources focusing on the technologies used by small law firm and solo practice attorneys. It also covers business and marketing practices.

FloridaBarNews.TV

Hackers are increasingly targeting lawyers' computers

FloridaBarNews.TV

Thinking of storing information in the cloud?

Serious Secure File Storage

File-Syncing Services

A review of cloud storage and file-synching services 2018 from PC Magazine.

File Storage

Data Security has never been more important. It's not only securing files on our own devices but a lot of our content is now in the cloud. In practicing law you may also have sensitive data, financial information and client files all of which need to be protected. In fact, a recent ethics opinion of the Florida Bar states that lawyers may use cloud computing but they need to take reasonable precautions to ensure the confidentiality of client information. (Florida Supreme Court Amendment)  This research guide coves files storage and security options.   

Books

Book Carousel

Locked Down

In an age where lawyers frequently conduct business across wireless networks using smartphones and laptops, how can attorneys safeguard client data and confidential information? This second edition of Locked Down explains the wide variety of information security risks facing law firms and how lawyers can best protect their data from these threats--with any budget. Written in clear, non-technical language that any lawyer can understand, this book will help you: Create secure password--and store them safely Assess the existing security risks at your firm: server rooms, cleaning crews, guests, alarm systems, and more Work securely from a laptop or smartphone Protect your mobile devices from theft Authenticate users and encrypt your data Maintain e-mail integrity Secure your wired or wireless network Effectively wipe data from a hard drive before disposal Develop an information security checklist for your firm Investigate, contain, and recover from a security breach"

The 2015 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide

This one-of-a-kind annual guide is written to help solo and small firm lawyers find the best technology for their dollar. You'll find the most current information and recommendations on computers, servers, networking equipment, legal software, printers, security products, smartphones, the iPad, and anything else a law office will need. It's written in clear, easily accessible language to make implementation easier whether you do it yourself use an IT consultant. Either way, you'll learn how to make technology work for you. Topics include: .A vendor-neutral look at the best and worst legal technology for both Mac and PC .Protecting your confidential data from anyone, including our own government .Keeping current with the ever-evolving smartphone market .Moving your data to the cloud safely and easily .The best law practice software for case and time management, financials, and the Paper LESS office .Cost effective software and hardware with a strong shelf life .Using social media to its full advantage .Legal technology forecasts for 2016"

Cloud Computing

Cloud Computing: Theory and Practice provides students and IT professionals with an in-depth analysis of the cloud from the ground up. Beginning with a discussion of parallel computing and architectures and distributed systems, the book turns to contemporary cloud infrastructures, how they are being deployed at leading companies such as Amazon, Google and Apple, and how they can be applied in fields such as healthcare, banking and science. The volume also examines how to successfully deploy a cloud application across the enterprise using virtualization, resource management and the right amount of networking support, including content delivery networks and storage area networks. Developers will find a complete introduction to application development provided on a variety of platforms. Learn about recent trends in cloud computing in critical areas such as: resource management, security, energy consumption, ethics, and complex systems Get a detailed hands-on set of practical recipes that help simplify the deployment of a cloud based system for practical use of computing clouds along with an in-depth discussion of several projects Understand the evolution of cloud computing and why the cloud computing paradigm has a better chance to succeed than previous efforts in large-scale distributed computing

Cloud Computing for Lawyers

As more businesses move their IT systems into the cloud, lawyers need to ask if cloud computing is right for their firm. Cloud Computing for Lawyers features a discussion of cloud computing fundamentals, an overview of legal cloud computing products, and step-by-step instructions for implementing cloud computing in your practice--including practical tips for securing your data.

Cloud Computing for Lawyers and Executives

This important resource introduces cloud computing, not only what it is but when to use (or not use) it and the financial implications to consider. It covers the applicable statutes and regulations that affect organizations using the cloud, including privacy, information security, breach notification, cross-border data transfers, blocking statutes, and cloud-specific laws, cases, and activities. This book presents the information and analytical tools needed by lawyers and risk professionals to guide their executives and organizational clients in assessing, treating, and negotiating cloud computing services using risk-based methodologies.

Computer and Information Security Handbook

The second edition of this comprehensive handbook of computer and information security provides the most complete view of computer security and privacy available. It offers in-depth coverage of security theory, technology, and practice as they relate to established technologies as well as recent advances. It explores practical solutions to many security issues. Individual chapters are authored by leading experts in the field and address the immediate and long-term challenges in the authors' respective areas of expertise. The book is organized into 10 parts comprised of 70 contributed chapters by leading experts in the areas of networking and systems security, information management, cyber warfare and security, encryption technology, privacy, data storage, physical security, and a host of advanced security topics. New to this edition are chapters on intrusion detection, securing the cloud, securing web apps, ethical hacking, cyber forensics, physical security, disaster recovery, cyber attack deterrence, and more. Chapters by leaders in the field on theory and practice of computer and information security technology, allowing the reader to develop a new level of technical expertise Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of security issues allows the reader to remain current and fully informed from multiple viewpoints Presents methods of analysis and problem-solving techniques, enhancing the reader's grasp of the material and ability to implement practical solutions

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.