This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Secondary sources provide an overview of legal issues and concepts in a given area of law. If you you are unfamiliar with a topic, background sources are useful because they analyze, explain, and comment on the law while giving you a context for your issue. Secondary sources may save you time by pointing to relevant primary sources. Law and economics treatises, written by legal scholars, provide necessary background information to get started and synthesis and analysis for more depth of understanding. General background sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, treatises, journal articles and law reviews.
The Language of Law and Economics by
From a historical perspective, 'law and economics' constituted one of the most influential developments in legal scholarship in the twentieth century; the discipline remains today one of the dominant perspectives on the law, generating a tremendous quantity of new research and discussion. Unfortunately, one consequence of applying the analytical methods of one highly technical field to the historically layered substance of another has been the accumulation of considerable technical overhead, requiring fluency in both the language of economics and the language of the law. Further complicating matters, the field of law and economics has sometimes developed independently, creating new terms, while recasting others from their original economic or legal meanings. In this dictionary of law and economics, Francesco Parisi provides a comprehensive and concise guide to the language and key concepts underlying this fecund interdisciplinary tradition. The first reference work of its kind, it will prove to be an invaluable resource for professionals, students and scholars.
This link opens in a new window
The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics by
In this easily accessible, user-friendly volume, respected economist David R. Henderson brings together 152 of the most brilliant minds in economics to show how the analysis of economic topics can illuminate many aspects of the average person’s daily life. Some of the noted contributors include Nobel Prize winners Gary Becker and George Stigler, and former presidential economic advisors, financial columnists, and economists such as Armen Alchian, Don Boudreaux, Deepak Lal, Anna Schwartz, Lawrence Summers, and Murray Rothbard. The entries cover numerous topics including basic concepts, discrimination and labor issues, corporations and financial markets, issues in economic history, economics of legal issues, regulation, environmental regulation, taxes, economic policy, macroeconomics, money and banking, international economics, economics outside the United States, economic systems, schools of economic thought, and more. Containing more than 160 entries, The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics provides the reader with a wealth of economic analysis about important issues in a comprehensive, yet readable and engaging format. Originally published in 1993 as The Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics and now thoroughly revised and updated, the Liberty Fund edition contains numerous new entries, updates of previously published articles, and a new introduction and index. David R. Henderson is a Research Fellow with Stanford University’s Hoover Institution and an Associate Professor of Economics at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California. He was formerly a Senior Economist with the President’s Council of Economic Advisers. EDITORIAL BOARD Tyler Cowen, Professor of Economics at George Mason University and Director of the James Buchanan Center and Mercatus Center Robert W. Crandall, Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution Kevin D. Hoover, Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Duke University Russell Roberts, Professor of Economics and the J. Fish and Lillian F. Smith Distinguished Scholar at the Mercatus Center at George Mason University
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Law and Economics by
'The Encyclopedia of Law and Economics contains superb bibliographies and essays on different areas and schools of law and economics research, on applications and critiques of economic analysis of law and on the development of law and economics throughout various jurisdictions.' - Neil Duxbury, the Modern Law Review
This link opens in a new window
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by
A great deal of economics is in fact about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations and so on. Yet these legal aspects and problems are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. At the same time a great deal of law, an increasing proportion of litigation for example, is about economics, and yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle. The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law is uniquely placed by the quality, breadth and depth of its coverage to address this need for building bridges. Drawn from the ranks of academics and professional lawyers and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include the leading exponents of their specialities. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars. The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law will become a benchmark for reference of the highest quality.
This link opens in a new window
Tort Law and Economics by
This volume provides a state-of-the-art overview of the literature on the economic analysis of tort law. In sixteen chapters, the specialist authors guide the reader through the often vast literature in each domain providing a balanced and comprehensive s
This link opens in a new window
Antitrust Law and Economics by
This comprehensive book provides an extensive overview of the major topics of antitrust law from an economic perspective. Its in-depth treatment and analysis of both the law and economics of antitrust is presented via a collection of interconnected origin
This link opens in a new window
Procedural Law and Economics by
With contributions from some of the leading scholars in law and economics, this comprehensive book summarizes the state of economic research on litigation, procedure and evidence.
This link opens in a new windowLaw and economics treatises, written by legal scholars, provide necessary background information to get started and synthesis and analysis for more depth of understanding.
The Black Box Society by
Every day, corporations are connecting the dots about our personal behaviorâe"silently scrutinizing clues left behind by our work habits and Internet use. The data compiled and portraits created are incredibly detailed, to the point of being invasive. But who connects the dots about what firms are doing with this information? The Black Box Society argues that we all need to be able to do soâe"and to set limits on how big data affects our lives. Hidden algorithms can make (or ruin) reputations, decide the destiny of entrepreneurs, or even devastate an entire economy. Shrouded in secrecy and complexity, decisions at major Silicon Valley and Wall Street firms were long assumed to be neutral and technical. But leaks, whistleblowers, and legal disputes have shed new light on automated judgment. Self-serving and reckless behavior is surprisingly common, and easy to hide in code protected by legal and real secrecy. Even after billions of dollars of fines have been levied, underfunded regulators may have only scratched the surface of this troubling behavior. Frank Pasquale exposes how powerful interests abuse secrecy for profit and explains ways to rein them in. Demanding transparency is only the first step. An intelligible society would assure that key decisions of its most important firms are fair, nondiscriminatory, and open to criticism. Silicon Valley and Wall Street need to accept as much accountability as they impose on others.
This link opens in a new window
Comparative Law and Economics by
Contemporary law and economics has greatly expanded its scope of inquiry as well as its sphere of influence. By focusing specifically on a comparative approach, this Handbook offers new insights for developing current law and economics research. It also provides stimuli for further research, exploring the idea that the comparative method offers a valuable way to enrich law and economics scholarship. With contributions from leading scholars from around the world, the Handbook sets the context by examining the past, present and future of comparative law and economics before addressing this approach to specific issues within the fields of intellectual property, competition, contracts, torts, judicial behaviour, tax, property law, energy markets, regulation and environmental agreements. This topical Handbook will be of great interest and value to scholars and postgraduate students of law and economics, looking for new directions in their research. It will also be a useful reference to policymakers and those working at an institutional level.
This link opens in a new window
Definition of the Relevant Market by
Market definition plays a critical role in EC competition law, as the first step of any investigation into the nature of competition in a given industry. While not an end in itself, the definition of the relevant market serves to identify those products and areas which effectively restrain the behavior of the firms of interest, so that those firms could not act independently within the market. However, the main challenge in this process is to outline which products should be included in the market, and which should be left outside its bounds. Whereas traditional market definitions highlighted product characteristics, functionality, and intended use as key provisions, modern competition law inquiries attempt to reformulate the market delineation exercise in more economic terms. This book strives for a greater harmony between law and economics in defining antitrust markets. To that end, it brings together a wide array of quantitative tests routinely utilized by European competition authorities, such as price correlation analysis or the analysis of trade flows, with more sophisticated quantitative measures, such as merger simulation models or critical loss analysis. Taken all together, the book proffers a comprehensive and protracted account of economic and empirical methods dominating the antitrust discourse to date, which carry the potential to revolutionize the quality of antitrust enforcement, its transparency, predictability, and the accuracy of its results. (Series: European Studies in Law and Economics - Vol. 9) [Subject: European Law, Competition Law, Law and Economics]
This link opens in a new window
The Future of Law and Economics by
In a concise, compelling argument, one of the founders and most influential advocates of the law and economics movement divides the subject into two separate areas, which he identifies with Jeremy Bentham and John Stuart Mill. The first, Benthamite, strain, "economic analysis of law," examines the legal system in the light of economic theory and shows how economics might render law more effective. The second strain, law and economics, gives equal status to law, and explores how the more realistic, less theoretical discipline of law can lead to improvements in economic theory. It is the latter approach that Judge Calabresi advocates, in a series of eloquent, thoughtful essays that will appeal to students and scholars alike.
The Language of Law and Economics by
From a historical perspective, 'law and economics' was one of the most influential developments in legal scholarship in the twentieth century; it remains today one of the dominant perspectives on the law, generating a tremendous quantity of new research and discussion. Unfortunately, the rewards of applying the analytical methods of one highly technical field to the historically layered substance of another has resulted in considerable overhead, requiring fluency in both the language of economics and the language of the law. Further complicating matters, law and economics has sometimes developed independently, creating new terms, while recasting others from their original economic or legal meanings. In this dictionary of law and economics, Francesco Parisi provides a comprehensive and concise guide to the language and key concepts underlying this fecund interdisciplinary tradition. The first reference work of its kind, it will prove to be an invaluable resource for professionals, students and scholars.
This link opens in a new window
Law and Economics in a Nutshell by
This guide provides expert coverage of the classic issues, including basic price theory; definitions of efficiency; the Coase Theorem; and the economics of contract law, tort law, criminal law, regulation, antitrust, and intellectual property. The text also discusses less conventional topics such as public choice, what it means to be a rational maximizer of self-interest, the assumptions underlying economic analysis as applied to law, limitations on the application of economic theory to law, the theory of second best, the prisoner's dilemma, the economics of marriage, the economics of inheritance, evolutionary theories of law, the economics of settlement, and the implications of recent research into happiness.
 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. |
