State Constitutional Law: Florida Historical

(Photo credit: State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory)

• Florida Constitution Revision Commission (1977-1978). Public testimony before the Florida Constitution Revision Commission: Summaries of points raised at hearings, prepared by the Center for Governmental Responsibility. LAW Archives KFF401 1978.A21 and KFF401 1978.A211
• Selected bibliography on State constitution revision prepared for the Florida Constitution Revision Commission by Albert L. Strum and the staff of the Institute of Governmental Research, the Florida State University.  1966 Law Mif 7 FL27
• 1838: Journal of the proceedings of a convention of delegates to form a constitution for the people of FL. Mif 7 FL 1 
• 1865: Journal of the proceedings of the convention of the people of Florida begun and held at the Capitol in the city of Tallahassee on Thursday, January 3, A.D. 1861. Jacksonville, Fla. : H. & W.B. Drew, 1928. Mif 7 FL 3
• 1868: Journal of the proceedings of the Constitutional Convention of the state of Florida begun and held at the Capitol, at Tallahassee on Monday, January 20, 1868. Tallahassee, Fla : E.M. Cheney, 1868. Mif 7 FL 7
• 1885: Journal of the proceedings of the Constitutional Convention of the state of Florida which convened at the Capitol, at Tallahassee, on Tuesday, June 9, 1885. Tallahassee, Fla. : N.M. Bowen, state printer, 1885. Law Library Mif 7 FL 11; KFF401 1885 .A2

Florida Constitution Revision Commission meeting in the Senate chamber, 1966. Photo credit: State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory

Search the FSU catalog for author "Florida Constitution Revision Commission" to find journals, minutes, proposed revisions and other documents relevant to the activities of the Commission. Search Florida Constitution in title to find various books, microfiche and other electronic resources. 

_____________________________________________________________________________

Search the archives catalog and the collections for:

• Florida Constitution Advisory Commission
• Florida Constitution Revision Commission
• Florida Constitution Revision Commission (1965-1967)
• Florida Constitution Revision Commission (1997-1998)

Records at the archives include minutes, background papers, public hearing audio tapes, committee records, commission meeting files, newspaper clippings, administrative files, and other documents related to the commission.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Search the State Library of Florida catalog or browse their Florida Collection for additional resources about Florida's constitution and history. Materials include books, pamphlets, manuscripts, newspapers, and pictures from territorial days to present. The State library & archives are located at:

R.A. Gray Building
500 South Bronough Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399

_____________________________________________________________________________

The Florida Supreme Court Library archives has the 1966 Florida Constitution Revision Commission Papers. Review the list to find the relevant documents you want and then visit the library to view the resource.