Research Guides : Immigration Law: Current Awareness

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Newsfeed

ICE

Proposed Immigration Legislation and Rules

The following are a list of resources for finding proposed legislation. The federal register is the only official source of proposed regulations, but the other sites can provide useful commentary.

Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Library of Congress
Search for legislation currently in Congress.
Bender's Immigration Bulletin
A bimonthly publication from Lexis including immigration news, case digests, regulations, and government documents.
Bender's Immigration Regulation Service
This information from Lexis is updated regarding immigration regulations as changes are made within the federal register.
Interpreter Releases
Interpreter Releases is available from Westlaw and provides weekly analysis of legislative, administrative, and judicial developments related to immigration law.

Other Websites

Cornell's Legal Information Institute on Immigration
An online portal to a brief history of online immigration law and resources available.
TRAC
The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University. The site provides data tools including recent reports and government studies.
more...less...
The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people — and institutions of oversight such as Congress, news organizations, public interest groups, businesses, scholars and lawyers — with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government
Workplace Immigration Report
Available through Bloomberg BNA, the workplace immigration report has useful tools like an index archive, case finder, and immigration news. Sign-up for email alerts for recurring issues.
Siskind's Immigration Bulletin
Provided by the Immigration Law Offices of Siskind and Susser, this is an immigration law portal to various resources and the Siskind's Immigration Bulletin consisting of immigration news.
Law Prof Immigration Blog
A immigration blog that discusses a variety of current awareness topics.

Immigration Law Blogs

Below are feeds from various immigration law blogs available at lexmonitor.com

Immigration Law Organizations

Below are few independent immigration law websites.

American Immigration Lawyers Association
more...less...
This website provides great information regarding current awareness, available resources, commentary and AILA publications.
American Immigration Council
more...less...
A non-profit organization that provides factual information about the impacts of immigration law as well as a state by state guide.
Center for Immigration Studies
more...less...
A non-partisan, non-profit research organization that provides information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States.
National Immigration Forum
more...less...
A pro-immigrant website that provides current awareness and policy concerning immigration.
National Immigration Project
more...less...
The National Immigration Project is a national non-profit that provides legal and technical support to immigrant communities, legal practitioners, and all advocates seeking to advance the rights of noncitizens
American Bar Association Commission on Immigration
U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants

Immigration Law on Twitter

Follow immigration law news on Twitter.

American Immigration Lawyers Association
AILA also has twitter accounts for specific practice areas, like business.
ILW.COM
Immigration law publisher with free information.
Immigration Advocates
The country's largest network of nonprofit and pro bono legal advocates working on behalf of immigrants' rights.
Trac Reports
TRAC reports updates twitter with new data alerts.