Law of the Sea: U.S. Government Resources

Department of State site containing policy statements, U.S. official documents, testimony before U.S. Congress, speeches; archives on Arctic and Antarctic policy, ocean policy and law of the sea, marine environment and science, fisheries, marine conservation and invasive species.

Includes information and official documents on ocean policy and law of the sea; marine environment and science; fisheries and marine conservation; arctic and antarctic policy

Coordinates science and technology programs of U.S. agencies; news releases and speeches, conference and workshop proceedings, distinguished lecture series, educational opportunities; science and technology section

Deals with all aspects of the oceans and includes sub-websites on specific ocean issues like fisheries, oil and chemical spills, and more.

Provides products, services and information that promote safe navigation, support coastal communities, sustain marine ecosystems, and mitigate coastal hazards.

NODC is an organization that provides scientific and public stewardship for national and international marine environmental and ecosystem data and information. Provides access to the world's most comprehensive sources of marine environmental data and information.

NODC maintains and updates a national ocean archive with environmental data acquired from domestic and foreign activities and produces products and research from these data which help monitor global environmental changes. These data include physical, biological and chemical measurements derived from in oceanographic observations, satellite remote sensing of the oceans, and ocean model simulations.

NODC manages and operates the World Data Center (WDC) for Oceanography, Silver Spring. Its personnel directly interact with Federal, state, academic, and industrial oceanographic activities, represent NOAA/NESDIS on various interagency domestic panels, committees and councils, and represent the U.S. in various international organizations, such as the International Oceanographic Data Exchange. The Data Center also represents NESDIS and NOAA to the general public, government agencies, private institutions, foreign governments, and the private sector on matters involving oceanographic data.

Working under the broad themes of Climate, Weather and Air Quality, and Ocean and Coastal Resources, NOAA scientists study the ocean's depths and the highest reaches of space to better understand our environment. NOAA's long-term commitment to the highest quality research includes engaging in-house and extramural talent to:

-continue to conduct experiments to understand natural processes (physical, geochemical, ecological);

-build predictive models for use in weather, climate, solar, ocean, and coastal assessments and predictions;

-develop and deploy new observing technologies to provide data to support predictive models and to document natural variability;

-develop new analytical and forecast tools to improve weather services;

-use new information technology to share information with other federal and academic scientists; and

-prepare scientific assessments and information products to enhance public education and guide governmental action.

Responsible for the stewardship of the nation's living marine resources and their habitat. Responsible for the management, conservation and protection of living marine resources within the United States' Exclusive Economic Zone (water three to 200 mile offshore). Using the tools provided by the Magnuson-Stevens Act, they assess and predicts the status of fish stocks, ensures compliance with fisheries regulations and works to reduce wasteful fishing practices. Under the Marine Mammal Protection Act and the Endangered Species Act, they recover protected marine species (i.e. whales, turtles) without unnecessarily impeding economic and recreational opportunities. With the help of the six regional offices and eight councils, they are able to work with communities on fishery management issues. They works to promote sustainable fisheries and to prevent lost economic potential associated with overfishing, declining species and degraded habitats. NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service strives to balance competing public needs.

Provides scientific expertise for successful spill response and restoration, helping to reduce harm to people, the environment and the economy. After a spill is cleaned, National Ocean Service works with NOAA’s Fisheries Service to restore natural habitat in its role as a Federal Trustee for the nation's marine resources.

The Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS) is a national-regional partnership working to provide new tools and forecasts to improve safety, enhance the economy, and protect our environment.