Law of the Sea: Academic/Org. Resources

San Pedro, California; oldest whale conservation society - international conferences, teaching materials, publications, latest developments, cruises, adoption programs, fact sheets on killer, northern right and other whales

Financial and technical support for coral reef conservation, educational resources

World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) – fisheries management and protection, toolkit for "Safeguarding Fisheries", newsroom; world maps of most threatened fisheries; publications

Marine mammal conservation; books, articles, reports, information packages on by-catch of pinnipeds (seals, sea lions, etc.), dolphins and porpoises; marine protected areas

Promotes protection, conservation and study of seals, sea lions and walruses; pinniped reference database

Information on sea turtles and how to protect and nurture them

Legal research, education, advocacy and assistance; membership directory, members' bulletin

Gathers knowledge of human past from physical remains of maritime activity and disseminates through scholarly and popular publications, seminars and lectures; information on field projects, virtual museum of nautical archaeology, publications

Non-profit, volunteer foundation dedicated to preserving our maritime heritage through the discovery, archaeological survey and conservation of shipwreck artifacts; initiating and supporting projects designed to uncover and explore historically significant shipwrecks; public information programs, archaeological reports and data on technical expertise

Coastline Statistics

Delimitation, demarcation and management of international boundaries on land and sea; sample full text and abstracts of publications; international boundary database

Information on islands, geographic characteristics, ecology, population, shoreline length and type, endangered species found on islands, distance from land

Provides advice and guidance and, where applicable, offers expert interpretation of the hydrographic, geodetic and other technical aspects of the Law of the Sea to the parent organizations (International Hydrographic Organization (IHO), the International Association of Geodesy (IAG) and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)), their member States or to other organizations on request.

Monitors and protects health of world's oceans by equipping yachts and other vessels and platforms around the world with a sophisticated ocean and weather monitoring module

Information on SCOR's working groups and affiliated programmes in marine science - ocean dynamics, ecosystems, sea level, bathymetry, chemistry, climate. Its members are the national committees for oceanic research of its thirty-seven member countries.

Reference center for U.S. position on law of the sea; U.S. Congressional speeches, government policy statements and reports, conference proceedings, discussion papers, articles

Research activities and information on oceanography and marine environment; cruises, expeditions, conferences, publications

Campaigns to protect Antarctic biodiversity, and promote sustainable, environmentally sound shipping; FoEI quarterly magazine

Training programmes, publications, research, conferences and seminars; newsletter, bibliographical information for Ocean Yearbook.

Access to information on islands and small island developing States (SIDS) especially from within the United Nations system

Membership of Committee listed with contact information, free e-mail subscription to newsletter of Committee activities and discussions

Education and outreach for marine conservation; listing of US marine-related legislation

Links to federal, provincial and territorial government sites dealing with the oceans; policy and legislation, industry, monitoring and protection; comprehensive links page

Marine conservation organization; conferences, newsletters, other events

Assists governments in research, policy formulation, awareness campaigns to reduce marine oil pollution; list of publications, full text newsletter

Diving community programmes to preserve aquatic environments and resources; protection of sharks

Research, information exchange, policy analysis and advocacy to promote sustainable development; sustainable development communications network, full text articles and publications on sustainable use of ocean and coastal ecosystems

Includes a searchable database of measures adopted by the Regional Fisheries Management Organizations (RFMOs) around the world

Deep-sea vent mineralogy and processes, biodiversity of deep ocean ecosystems, history of deep diving vehicles

Restoration, preservation of marine habitats; coral reefs, marine mammals, coastal habitats, fisheries

Marine management, marine biodiversity, coastal ecosystems, reefs, facts and figures

Programmes coordinating conservation and management of marine biodiversity in cooperation with regional and country offices. International organization concerned with environmental conservation works with local communities to promote responsible use of resources.

Law of the sea, ocean policy, national security law

Subject area is indicative, not exhaustive

Research, education in fishery science; advanced techniques for fishery management

Oceanography (biological, chemical, geological, geophysical, physical), fisheries sciences, marine affairs; undergraduate and graduate

Earth/ocean science, seismic studies, paleo-oceanography, sea floor spreading

Geology, geophysics, meteorology and oceanography of Pacific Ocean

Extensive research in the Gulf of Mexico

Study of northern seas and coasts

Study of coastal processes of highly variable regions - Gulf of Mexico, Caribbean Sea and Cuba using e.g., CZCS, SeaWiFS, Landsat, and TOPEX/POSEIDON