Research Guides : How to Find: United States Supreme Court Cases: Internet Sources

Online Sources from Academic Databases

These subscription databases are free for all FSU students (including students not attending FSU Law) and will probably also be available to students from other universities.

NexisUni
You can also find Supreme Court cases online using Nexis Uni.
Once you're on the Nexis Uni webpage find the box labeled "What are you interested in" and select "Cases." In the "Which Jurisdiction" box, select "Federal." Finally, under "Search in all cases for" you can search by party name, keyword, or case citation.
more...less...
To get to Nexis Uni:
Go to lib.fsu.edu. Click on Search Options. Below the search bar, click on "Databases Search." You can either search the database by typing in the search bar (Nexis Uni) or jump to "N" on the A-Z list and scroll down.
HeinOnline
Access to U.S. Reports-- from Volume 1 to current slip opinions. Need citation to search for a particular case. If you try to access this from off-campus, you will have to log in by institution. Just type in "Florida State University" and select the one that says "OpenAthens."

Sources from Subscription Legal Databases

Subscription legal databases are available for available for students attending Florida State University College of Law.

WestLaw
Coverage begins in 1790. Also has the most recent Supreme Court Cases. Searches can be done using citations as well as party names.
Lexis Advance
Find historical cases and up to date coverage on current Supreme Court cases

Free Sources for SCOTUS Opinions

Google Scholar
Google Scholar has free access to a large body of legal documents, including Supreme Court cases.
When searching for a USSC case on Google Scholar click the Case Law button below the search bar. You can then search by plaintiff, defendant or citation. Simply type in the information and click the search button.
When searching by citation: type in the citation number and find the relevant case at the top of the search. Click the Cited by (#) button underneath the case name. On the following screen click the hyperlinked case name to reach your case.
FindLaw - US Supreme Court Opinions
FindLaw is a commercial website that has Supreme Court cases since 1893.
You can find Supreme Court cases on FindLaw using party names, United States Reports' citations (U.S.) or by text within the case itself.
OpenJurist - United States Reports
OpenJurist is a free database that has Supreme Court Opinions beginning from its first session in 1790.
Cornell University School of Law
Cornell University has a database of both recent and historical Supreme Court Decisions
United States Reports -- Online
The Supreme Court has the complete collection of US Reports in PDF format starting from Volume 502 (1991). You will have to know the citation to find the case. For further instruction on how to find citations with party names refer to the Print Sources tab.

Online SCOTUS Research

Links for online sources of information for background information about the Supreme Court

Supreme Court Website
The official website has information about the Supreme Court including calendar, court rules and videos of oral arguments.
Supreme Court Blog
Information for Supreme Court current events. The blog includes Supreme Court briefs and certiorari petitions. (Sponsored by Bloomberg Law)