Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Administrative Leadership in Open and Distance Learning Programs by The face of education is constantly being transformed due to rapid changes in technology. It is imperative that leadership trends and techniques be evaluated in the educational field, particularly in reference to alternative learning programs. The Handbook of Research on Administrative Leadership in Open and Distance Learning Programs is a pivotal scholarly resource that discusses emerging issues surrounding the administration of non-traditional education practices. Highlighting relevant topics that include policy development, quality assurance, accreditation, and assessment systems, this publication is an ideal reference source for educators, academicians, graduate students, and researchers that are interested in the progression of open and distance education.
Call Number: LC5800.A36 2018
Publication Date: 2017-06-16
Applied Pedagogies by Teaching any subject in a digital venue must be more than simply an upload of the face-to-face classroom and requires more flexibility than the typical learning management system affords. Applied Pedagogies examines the pedagogical practices employed by successful writing instructors in digital classrooms at a variety of institutions and provides research-grounded approaches to online writing instruction. This is a practical text, providing ways to employ the best instructional strategies possible for today's diverse and dynamic digital writing courses. Organized into three sections--Course Conceptualization and Support, Fostering Student Engagement, and MOOCs--chapters explore principles of rhetorically savvy writing crossed with examples of effective digital teaching contexts and genres of digital text. Contributors consider not only pedagogy but also the demographics of online students and the special constraints of the online environments for common writing assignments. The scope of online learning and its place within higher education is continually evolving. Applied Pedagogies offers tools for the online writing classrooms of today and anticipates the needs of students in digital contexts yet to come. This book is a valuable resource for established and emerging writing instructors as they continue to transition to the digital learning environment. Contributors: Kristine L. Blair, Jessie C. Borgman, Mary-Lynn Chambers, Katherine Ericsson, Chris Friend, Tamara Girardi, Heidi Skurat Harris, Kimberley M. Holloway, Angela Laflen, Leni Marshall, Sean Michael Morris, Danielle Nielsen, Dani Nier-Weber, Daniel Ruefman, Abigail G. Scheg, Jesse Stommel
Call Number: PE1404.A64 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-15
E-Learning and the Academic Library by Focusing on academic libraries and librarians who are extending the boundaries of e-learning, this collection of essays presents new ways of using information and communication technologies to create learning experiences for a variety of user communities. Essays feature e-learning projects involving MOOCs (massive open online courses), augmented reality, chatbots and other innovative applications. Contributors describe the process of project development, from determination of need, to exploration of tools, project design and user assessment.
Call Number: GOLDSTEIN LIBRARY Z675.U5E15 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-25
Emergence and innovation in digital learning : foundations and applications by Educational systems worldwide are facing an enormous shift as a result of sociocultural, political, economic, and technological changes. The technologies and practices that have developed over the last decade have been heralded as opportunities to transform both online and traditional education systems. While proponents of these new ideas often postulate that they have the potential to address the educational problems facing both students and institutions and that they could provide an opportunity to rethink the ways that education is organized and enacted, there is little evidence of emerging technologies and practices in use in online education. Because researchers and practitioners interested in these possibilities often reside in various disciplines and academic departments the sharing and dissemination of their work across often rigid boundaries is a formidable task. Contributors to Emergence and Innovation in Digital Learning include individuals who are shaping the future of online learning with their innovative applications and investigations on the impact of issues such as openness, analytics, MOOCs, and social media. Building on work first published in Emerging Technologies in Distance Education, the contributors to this collection harness the dispersed knowledge in online education to provide a one-stop locale for work on emergent approaches in the field. Their conclusions will influence the adoption and success of these approaches to education and will enable researchers and practitioners to conceptualize, critique, and enhance their understanding of the foundations and applications of new technologies.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: Edmonton, Alberta : AU Press, 2016
Reimagining the Academic Library by Academic libraries are in the midst of significant disruption. Academic librarians and university administrators know they need to change, but are not sure how. Bits and pieces of what needs to happen are clear, but the whole picture is hard to grasp. Reimagining the Academic Library paints a simple straightforward picture of the changes affecting academic libraries and what academic librarians need to do to respond to the changes would help to guide future library practice. The aim is to explain where academic libraries need to go and how to get there in a book that can be read in a weekend. David Lewis provides a readable survey of the current state of academic library practice and proposes where academic libraries need to go in the future to provide value to their campuses. His primary focus is on collections as this is the area with the greatest opportunity for change and is the driver of most library cost. Lewis provides an accessible framework for thinking about how library practice needs to adjust in the digital environment. The book will be useful not only to academic librarians, but also for librarians to share with presidents and provosts who a concise source for understanding where and how to focus their expenditures on libraries.
Call Number: Z675.U5L49 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Moocs and Libraries by MOOCs or massive open online courses that can be attended by hundreds of thousands of students at the same time have become wildly popular in recent years, and have begun to gain traction with libraries as well. There are many potential roles for libraries in MOOCs including: development, support, assessment, modeling, teaching, and preservation. In MOOCs and Libraries, learn how you can utilize MOOCs for staff training, bibliographic instruction, supporting faculty curriculum, and more Readers of this start-to-finish guide to MOOC's in libraries will learn all about MOOC creation, from early stage planning, pedagogy, and equipment selection, to filming and launch, including: -How to Choose Hardware and Software for Your MOOC -Planning your first MOOC project -Planning for a Library MOOC Video Project -How to Develop MOOC Scripts -Storyboarding -Choosing a MOOC Filming Location -How to create MOOCs for bibliographic instruction -How to create MOOCs for staff training -How to create video lectures and screencasts
Call Number: Z674.75.W67C67 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-13
This research guide covers issues related to legal education and distance learning, including: delivery methods, asynchronous and synchronous learning, MOOCs, mind mapping, law office management, legislative initiatives and other related topics.
Technology Support and Cataloging