Collier on Bankruptcy is written by scholars in the field and considered a preeminent resource. This treatise is updated regularly is available both in print and online through LexisNexis.
Print: KF1520.C6 2009
Electronic: LexisNexis
Questions and Answers: Bankruptcy by
The Second Edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy builds on the excellence, scope, and usability of the First Edition. The book contains 398 multiple-choice and short-answer questions with clear, detailed answers for each question, along with a two-hour, comprehensive practice exam, also with detailed, step-by-step explanations. The questions and answers cover the major chapters of the Bankruptcy Code (7, 11, 12, and 13) and include expertly designed questions on consumer bankruptcy, corporation liquidation, corporate reorganization, family farms, bankruptcy procedure, and many other issues. Specific coverage includes: the structure of the Code, bankruptcy eligibility, property of the estate and exclusions, the automatic stay, claims resolution and distribution, administrative powers, executory contracts, avoiding powers, preferences and exceptions, strong-arm powers, fraudulent transfers, recovery of avoided transfers, discharge and dischargeability, exemptions, means-testing, redemption, reaffirmation, reorganization plans in both chapter 11 and chapter 13, plan confirmation, advanced issues in chapter 11, non-discrimination, lien avoidance, and revocation of plan confirmation. A robust mix of both practical and policy-oriented questions, the second edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy is completely updated to incorporate the latest revisions to the Bankruptcy Code and Rules, as well as recent case law developments. The book is an ideal study aid for students taking introductory and advanced bankruptcy courses, and is perfect for practitioners seeking bankruptcy certification.
Bankruptcy and Debtor Creditor by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Bankruptcy and Related Law in a Nutshell by
This classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for over 45 years has been revised to reflect changes in case law, changes in bankruptcy practices, and changes in bankruptcy casebooks. Today's bankruptcy courses are now much more than just the automatic stay, avoiding powers, and discharge. As bankruptcy classes have become more comprehensive, more students have found this book helpful in comprehending reading assignments, class discussions, and exam questions.
Understanding Bankruptcy: Global Issues, Perspectives, and Challenges by
This book offers a global perspective and understanding on how to handle debt, manage finances efficiently and avoid bankruptcy both in business and at a personal level. After the trauma of the recent global financial crisis and the phenomenally higher rates of bankruptcy than there were in previous generations, this book is timely. It is believed that the rise in the level of bankruptcy is partly as a result of the escalating debt problems caused by easy availability of credit before the global financial crisis and the change in generational attitudes towards debt as well as partly due to poor financial management and general financial illiteracy. The contributors to this book come from academic backgrounds within the UK, South America and Europe who have worked and researched for many years on the issues presented in this book. The book utilizes both quantitative and qualitative methodologies and presents findings from rich, developed nations as well as poor, developing nations which examine global issues, perspectives and challenges of bankruptcy. Thus, the book provides both conceptual and empirical arguments. The book provides an invaluable contribution and insight into debt and bankruptcy, the bankruptcy process, debt management and the prediction of signs of business failure. It does this by using the latest research and leading-edge thinking both nationally and globally to explain the issues comprehensively and concisely, achieving a good balance between conceptual and practical perspectives. In this respect, the book offers the reader an opportunity (through a combination of chapters) not only to acquire knowledge of bankruptcy and the bankrupt both quantitative and qualitative methodologies and presents findings from rich, developed nations as well as poor, developing nations which examine global issues, perspectives and challenges of bankruptcy. Thus, the book provides both conceptual and empirical arguments. The book provides an invaluable contribution and insight into debt and bankruptcy, the bankruptcy process, debt management and the prediction of signs of business failure. It does this by using the latest research and leading-edge thinking both nationally and globally to explain the issues comprehensively and concisely, achieving a good balance between conceptual and practical perspectives. In this respect, the book offers the reader an opportunity (through a combination of chapters) not only to acquire knowledge of bankruptcy and the bankruptcy process, but also the awareness of actions to take when faced with debt and bankruptcy.
Business Reorganization in Bankruptcy by 
Inside Bankruptcy Law by 
Bankruptcy and Article 9 2013 Statutory Supplement by 
Bankruptcy Law by
To view or download the 2023 Supplement to this book, click here. Bankruptcy Law: Principles, Policies, and Practice puts bankruptcy law in context, illuminating the evolution of the Bankruptcy Code with an exploration of current and historical non-bankruptcy remedies. The book continually approaches each topic through the goals of creditors and debtors, exploring how each is served in various parts of the Code. Extensive questions and numerous problems focus student attention on the mechanics of the bankruptcy process. But they do so through the lens of history and policy, and they explain why the law is the way it is. The authors' aim in designing the casebook was to provide a very accessible medium for introducing students to bankruptcy law in a sophisticated manner. As the title indicates, the emphasis is on the relationship between the core principles essential to an understanding of the law, the policies animating those principles, and the challenges presented by the effectuation of those principles and policies in bankruptcy practice. In its methodology, Bankruptcy Law: Principles, Policies, and Practice relies on a variety of expository tools--textual discussion, comprehension questions, problems, cases, and thought/discussion questions--all with a careful eye toward building upon previous materials and concepts. The fifth edition incorporates all of the latest important case law, as well as a section covering the new subchapter V of chapter 11 for small business reorganization cases. Economy of presentation is the hallmark of the casebook, but the Teacher's Manual picks up where the casebook leaves off. The Teacher's Manual is consciously drafted (in both organization and voice) as a set of detailed teaching notes.
Bankruptcy Code, Rules and Forms by 
 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. |
