Animal Law by
This innovative book explores the emerging area of animal rights law. Animal Law: Welfare, Interest, and Rights asks the question, “What are the arguments for animal rights as a matter of philosophy and at law?” David Favre, a well-known figure in the area of animal rights, discusses how the legal system today deals with animal-human relationships as well as how it may do so in the future. David Favre, who has extensive experience teaching and speaking around the world on animal issues, has crafted an exceptional text. Among its many attributes: The author covers over 100 years of legal history regarding animal rights, beginning in 1867 with the adoption of the New York Anti-Cruelty Law. Materials are presented to highlight the animal issues that people most commonly face, including ownership, sales, divorce, recovery for damages for harm to animals, and providing for animals in wills. Criminal liability under state anti-cruelty laws is considered in detail, including topical issues such dog fighting And The hoarding of animals. Veterinary malpractice And The state’s ability to control animals such as dangerous dogs and pet snakes are explored. The status of commercial agricultural animals is presented in detail – including factual information and policy concepts – in order to consider what future law might be appropriate. The text offers engaging, student-friendly problems and case studies on many of the main topic areas in animal rights. Additional chapters, available on the Web as PDF files, include coverage of private regulation of ownership by landlords and condo associations, control of wildlife by the state, and animals in science Animal Law: Welfare, Interest, and Rights is certain to become the preeminent teaching tool in the area of animal rights. If you are teaching a course in animal rights law – or contemplating teaching one – be sure to examine this perceptive, comprehensive text. An author website to support classroom instruction using this title is available at http://www.aspenlawschool.com/favre . David Favre was recently interviewed on the ABC News regarding an Animal Rights case. View the video on ABC News now .
Animal Law by 
Animal Law by
Animal law is, in its simplest (and broadest) sense, a combination of statutory and decisional law in which the nature -- legal, social, or biological -- of non-human animals is an important factor. The fifth edition is updated significantly, while continuing to present a cohesive format that touches on many areas in which animals affect legal doctrines, case law, and legislative direction. Because animal law is not a traditional legal field, the book is largely framed according to traditional legal headings such as tort, contract, criminal and constitutional law. Each chapter sets out cases and commentary where animal law continues to develop its own doctrine. An important chapter on the commercial use of animals, introduced in the third edition, has been further updated with recent cases and statutory developments covering the significant areas of agriculture and biomedical research.
Animal Law in a Nutshell by 
Animal Law by
Journal on Animal Law
More volumes via online access (Gale Academic, Gale OneFile, Gale LegalTrac, HeinOnline)
Animals and the Law by
Offers a comprehensive overview of the legislation and legal issues surrounding animals. * Includes a list of major animal organizations actively engaged in legal matters on a national level * Includes tables of cases, authorities, statutes, and regulations
Animals Confined for Human Benefit by
This research guide covers the law concerning animals confined for human benefit: farm, laboratory and entertainment animals.--Publisher.
Confronting Animal Abuse by
one publisher referred to this as a 'new genre, ' in that it is a memoir/how-to when the author refused to choose between The top agents and publishers declared their 'love' for this work in writing but could not envision how to sell it; the author, knowing, as one agent said 'just what you have intended....you offer a unique format, ' refusing to prostitute her expertise or artistic vision, offers: the only known one stop, non drug remedy for flashbacks, done in minutes even by the victims themselves a detailed, poetic rendering of one of her 'unspeakable' horrors, which spawned this work and a variety of roads to recovery only one of which is a twelve step program she founded she continues to 'man' a pro buono hotline for trauma survivors and survivors of a loved one's suicide and has done so for the past 22 years.
People, Property, or Pets? by
What's the difference between owning a painting, a dog, or a young child? For starters, you can't own a child, but you are legally responsible for their care. You can own a painting and a dog; both fall under the jurisdiction of the law and in particular, property rights. But why should a dog, man's best friend, an animal with a mind and emotions, fall under the same general category as a painting? Juxtaposed in this way, the question seems silly. How could the law be so foolish? Can't lawyers see the difference? Why shouldn't dogs end up in the same category as young children, a category of living things that require our care? If the law recognized dogs, along with cats, cows, mice, monkeys, birds, and files as requiring legal guardianship, this would have radical consequences for how we live our lives. We couldn't keep animals in zoos, couldn't eat them, use their fur to keep warm, or test them with drugs to improve our own health. Their lives would be different, and so would ours. This book explores these issues, but does so in a fresh new way. combination of voices from different experts, we present a set of essays from a lawyer philosopher, biochemist, psychologist, and animal scientist, together with a group of educated students engaged in the debate. The essays are set up to present both sides, some adopting arguments in favor of a shift to legal guardianship, while others support their status as property. Experts in the field will be engaged by the subtle issues surrounding this debate, while educators will find the student essays refreshing and of interest in classroom seminars.
What Can Animal Law Learn from Environmental Law? by 
A Worldview of Animal Law by
This is the first book of its kind an exciting and illustrative survey of the way different countries and cultures treat animals under the law. Given the breadth and scope of the legal treatment of animals around the world, the book presents selected issues and laws in a text that is readable and helpful to a wide range of readers, including undergraduate and post-graduate courses in sociology, cultural anthropology, international law, animal law, and animals in society. The book is also accessible to readers not matriculating through formal coursework, and provides any reader with a solid understanding of the varied treatment and approaches taken by countries around the world in connection with animals used in every area. A Worldview of Animal Law is split into subject areas tied to the different ways we interact with animals in society, with a focus on comparing the laws in different countries in the current era. Its format and wide coverage make it interesting for readers in any country who want to know about this area of the law, whether for personal, educational or professional reasons. Unlike many casebooks on the market, this is not a law school text, and not a comprehensive survey of one specific country s laws; rather, it provides a more readable and wider view of the compelling issues that arise regarding the integration of animals into society.
The Animal Rights Debate by
Gary L. Francione is a law professor and leading philosopher of animal rights theory. Robert Garner is a political theorist specializing in the philosophy and politics of animal protection. Francione maintains that we have no moral justification for using nonhumans and argues that because animals are property--or economic commodities--laws or industry practices requiring "humane" treatment will, as a general matter, fail to provide any meaningful level of protection. Garner favors a version of animal rights that focuses on eliminating animal suffering and adopts a protectionist approach, maintaining that although the traditional animal-welfare ethic is philosophically flawed, it can contribute strategically to the achievement of animal-rights ends. As they spar, Francione and Garner deconstruct the animal protection movement in the United States, the United Kingdom, Europe, and elsewhere, discussing the practices of such organizations as PETA, which joins with McDonald's and other animal users to "improve" the slaughter of animals. They also examine American and European laws and campaigns from both the rights and welfare perspectives, identifying weaknesses and strengths that give shape to future legislation and action.
Animal Rights and Moral Philosophy by
Animals obviously cannot have a right of free speech or a right to vote because they lack the relevant capacities. But their right to life and to be free of exploitation is no less fundamental than the corresponding right of humans, writes Julian H. Franklin. This theoretically rigorous book will reassure the committed, help the uncertain to decide, and arm the polemicist. Franklin examines all the major arguments for animal rights proposed to date and extends the philosophy in new directions. Animal Rights and Moral Philosophy begins by considering the utilitarian argument of equal respect for animals advocated by Peter Singer and, even more favorably, the rights approach that has been advanced by Tom Regan. Despite their merits, both are found wanting as theoretical foundations for animal rights. Franklin also examines the ecofeminist argument for an ethics of care and several rationalist arguments before concluding that Kant's categorical imperative can be expanded to form a basis for an ethical system that includes all sentient beings. Franklin also discusses compassion as applied to animals, encompassing Albert Schweitzer's ethics of reverence for life. He concludes his analysis by considering conflicts of rights between animals and humans.
Animal Rights by
In this compelling volume in the What Everyone Needs to Know® series, Paul Waldau expertly navigates the many heated debates surrounding the complex and controversial animal rights movement. Organized around a series of probing questions, this timely resource offers the most complete, even-handed survey of the animal rights movement available. The book covers the full spectrum of issues, beginning with a clear, highly instructive definition of animal rights. Waldau looks at the different concerns surrounding companion animals, wild animals, research animals, work animals, and animals used for food, provides a no-nonsense assessment of the treatment of animals, and addresses the philosophical and legal arguments that form the basis of animal rights. Along the way, readers will gain insight into the history of animal protection-as well as the political and social realities facing animals today-and become familiar with a range of hot-button topics, from animal cognition and autonomy, to attempts to balance animal cruelty versus utility. Chronicled here are many key figures and organizations responsible for moving the animal rights movement forward, as well as legislation and public policy that have been carried out around the world in the name of animal rights and animal protection. The final chapter of this indispensable volume looks ahead to the future of animal rights, and delivers an animal protection mandate for citizens, scientists, governments, and other stakeholders. With its multidisciplinary, non-ideological focus and all-inclusive coverage, Animal Rights represents the definitive survey of the animal rights movement-one that will engage every reader and student of animal rights, animal law, and environmental ethics. What Everyone Needs to Know® is a registered trademark of Oxford University Press.
What Animals Want by
Larry Carbone, a veterinarian who is in charge of the lab animal welfare assurance program at a major research university, presents this scholarly history of animal rights. Biomedical researchers, and the less fanatical among the animal rights activists will find this book reasonable, humane, and novel in its perspective. It brings a novel, sociological perspective to an area that has been addressed largely from a philosophical perspective, or from the entrenched positions of highly committed advocates of a particular position in the debate.
The Animal Rights Debate by
Do all animals have rights? Is it morally wrong to use mice or dogs in medical research, or rabbits and cows as food? How ought we resolve conflicts between the interests of humans and those of other animals? Philosophical inquiry is essential in addressing such questions; the answers given must have enormous practical importance. Here for the first time in the same volume, the animal rights debate is argued deeply and fully by the two most articulate and influential philosophers representing the opposing camps. Each makes his case in turn to the opposing case. The arguments meet head on: Are we humans morally justified in using animals as we do? A vexed and enduring controversy here receives its deepest and most eloquent exposition.
The Political Theory of Animal Rights by
This book seeks to examine the impact on political thinking of regarding animals as morally important beings. Garner notes how political theorists have largely neglected the effect on political thinking of incorporating the interests of animals. Yet, he argues, the case for granting them a high moral status is practically unanswerable. As a result, the author challenges the presumption that political theory is about the"'human question". He seeks to identify the political ideology that is best able to further the interests of animals.
Animal Rights by
Millions of people live with cats, dogs, and other pets, which they treat as members of their families. But through their daily behavior, people who love those pets, and greatly care about their welfare, help ensure short and painful lives for millions, even billions of animals that cannot easily be distinguished from dogs and cats. Today, the overwhelming percentage of animals with whom Westerners interact are raised for food. Countless animals endure lives of relentless misery and die often torturous deaths. The use of animals by human beings, often for important human purposes, has forced uncomfortable questions to center stage: Should people change their behavior? Should the law promote animal welfare? Should animals have legal rights? Should animals continue to be counted as "property"? What reforms make sense? Cass Sunstein and Martha Nussbaum bring together an all-star cast of contributors to explore the legal and political issues that underlie the campaign for animal rights and the opposition to it. Addressing ethical questions about ownership, protection against unjustified suffering, and the ability of animals to make their own choices free from human control, the authors offer numerous different perspectives on animal rights and animal welfare. They show that whatever one's ultimate conclusions, the relationship between human beings and nonhuman animals is being fundamentally rethought. This book offers a state-of-the-art treatment of that rethinking. Contributors include: Elizabeth Anderson Cora Diamond Richard A. Epstein David Favre Gary L. Francione Gisela Kaplan Catharine A. MacKinnon Richard A. Posner James Rachelsl Lesley J. Rogers Peter Singer Mariann Sullivan Stephen M. Wise David J. Wolfson
Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare by
From the use of animals in experiments to develop medicine for people to the preservation of endangered species in zoos, human beings' responsibility to and for their fellow animals has become an increasingly controversial subject. This book, which Jane Goodall in her foreword calls unique, informative, and exciting, provides a provocative overview of the many different perspectives on the issues of animal rights and animal welfare in an easy-to-use encyclopedic format. Students, teachers, and interested readers can explore the ideas of well-known philosophers, biologists, and psychologists in this field, such as Peter Singer, Tom Regan, and over 125 others, all of whom have contributed original entries. Bekoff has provided a wide variety of well-chosen entries, defining terms and concepts and providing brief biographies, all of which relate to the topics of animal rights and animal welfare from the perspectives of many different disciplines: philosophy, psychology, ethology, anthropology, ecology, sociology, education, law, history, politics, theology, veterinary science, and public administration. The multidisciplinary approach allows users to critically examine the varied angles and arguments and gain a better understanding of the history and development of animal rights and animal protectionist movements worldwide.
In Search of Consistency by
This is the story of the Rice family, and of Liza, their severely mentally-retarded eldest daughter. It's a story about what it was like growing up in a large, rowdy household forever in the thrall of this unknowable, unreachable child. When she was small Cecilia always believed Liza would not survive to adulthood, that she would never be her #147;problem.” But she did survive. With warmth, wisdom and humor, Cecilia reveals how her family came to think of #147;the Liza problem” as their own and how, through the passing of time and a mysterious process of acceptance and forgiveness, their fears and resentment turned into fierce loyalty and abiding love. This is more than a memoir about the difficulties, challenges, and rare rewards that come with caring for a disabled child.
Pet Law and Custody by 
Empty Cages by
Described by Jeffrey Masson as "the single best introduction to animal rights ever written," this new book by Tom Regan will structure the animal rights debate for generations to come. In a style at once simple and elegant, Regan dispels the negative image of animal rights advocates perpetrated by the mass media, unmasks the fraudulent rhetoric of "humane treatment" favored by animal exploiters, and explains why existing laws function to legitimize institutional cruelty. Written by the leading philosophical spokesperson for animal rights, Tom Regan's shocking expos of animal abuse makes an essential and lasting contribution that will significantly impact the history of animal rights advocacy in America.
In Defense of Animals by
The 1970s and 80s marked a turning point in our view about animals. That is when Peter Singer's books Animal Liberation and In Defence of Animals crystallized for many of us our feelings of unease at the cruelty bestowed upon our fellow creatures. Much has happened since then. Philosopher have refined their ethical arguments. Biologists have found a scientific basis for assessing animal suffering. Activists have tested and defied the law. A movement that once was viewed as trivial and sentimental has become a respectable, even mainstream, belief. Yet much is unresolved, and much remains to be done. It is time to reassess what has taken place on all fronts, to plan new strategies that will 'expand the circle of ethics' to embrace all living creatures. Animals is the platform for the continuing struggle. In this volume, Peter Singer has brought together articles and essays by some of the leading proponents hand accounts of the stories that have made headlines around the world the plight of the silver Spring laboratory monkeys, the freeing of the Island of the Dragon dolphins, the successful campaigns against the Draize and LD50 tests. Also examined are the rapid extinction of species and the cruel confinement of animals in farm factories and zoos. Bracketing these essays are Singer's prologue and epilogue, which put the whole movement into historical perspective as a significant step in the development of human ethics.
The Oxford Handbook of Animal Ethics by
Humans encounter and use animals in a stunning number of ways. The nature of these animals and the justifiability or unjustifiabilitly of human uses of them are the subject matter of this volume. Philosophers have long been intrigued by animal minds and vegetarianism, but only around the last quarter of the twentieth century did a significant philosophical literature begin to be developed on both the scientific study of animals and the ethics of human uses of animals. This literature had aprimary focus on discussion of animal psychology, the moral status of animals, the nature and significance of species, and a number of practical problems. This Oxford Handbook is designed to capture the nature of the questions as they stand today and to propose solutions to many of the majorproblems. Several chapters in this volume explore matters that have never previously been examined by philosophers. The authors of the thirty-five chapters come from a diverse set of philosophical interests in the History of Philosophy, the Philosophy of Mind, the Philosophy of Biology, the Philosophy of Cognitive Science, the Philosophy of Language, Ethical Theory, and Practical Ethics. They explore manytheoretical issues about animal minds and an array of practical concerns about animal products, farm animals, hunting, circuses, zoos, the entertainment industry, safety-testing on animals, the status and moral significance of species, environmental ethics, the nature and significance of the mindsof animals, and so on. They also investigate what the future may be expected to bring in the way of new scientific developments and new moral problems. This book of original essays is the most comprehensive single volume ever published on animal minds and the ethics of our use of animals.
Ethics and Animals by
In this comprehensive introduction to animal ethics, Lori Gruen weaves together poignant and provocative case studies with discussions of ethical theory, urging readers to engage critically and empathetically reflect on our treatment of other animals. In clear and accessible language, Gruen provides a survey of the issues central to human-animal relations and a reasoned new perspective on current key debates in the field. She analyses and explains a range of theoretical positions and poses challenging questions that directly encourage readers to hone their ethical reasoning skills and to develop a defensible position about their own practices. Her book will be an invaluable resource for students in a wide range of disciplines including ethics, environmental studies, veterinary science, women's studies, and the emerging field of animal studies and is an engaging account of the subject for general readers with no prior background in philosophy.
Women and the Animal Rights Movement by
Animal rights is one of the fastest growing social movements today. Women greatly outnumber men as activists, yet surprisingly, little has been written about the importance and impact of gender on the movement. Women and the Animal Rights Movement combats stereotypes of women activists as mere sentimentalists by exploring the political and moral character of their advocacy on behalf of animals. Emily Gaarder analyzes the politics of gender in the movement, incorporating in-depth interviews with women and participant observation of animal rights organizations, conferences, and protests to describe struggles over divisions of labor and leadership. Controversies over PETA advertising campaigns that rely on women's sexuality to "sell" animal rights illustrate how female crusaders are asked to prioritize the cause of animals above all else. Gaarder underscores the importance of a paradigm shift in the animal liberation movement, one that seeks a more integrated vision of animal rights that connects universally to other issues--gender, race, economics, and the environment--highlighting that many women activists recognize and are motivated by the connection between the oppression of animals and other social injustices.
Brute Souls, Happy Beasts, and Evolution by
In this provocative inquiry into the status of animals in human society from the fifth century BC to the present, Rod Preece provides a wholly new perspective on the human-animal relationship. He skillfully demonstrates that, counter to prevailing intellectual opinion, ethical attitudes toward animals are neither restricted to the twentieth century nor the result of Darwin's theory of evolution. They have been part of Western thought and culture for centuries.
Animals and Why They Matter by
"Animals and Why They Matter" examines the barriers that our philosophical traditions have erected between human beings and animals and reveals that the too-often ridiculed subject of animal rights is an issue crucially related to such problems within the human community as racism, sexism, and age discrimination. Mary Midgley's profound and clearly written narrative is a thought-provoking study of the way in which the opposition between reason and emotion has shaped our moral and political ideas and the problems it has raised. Whether considering vegetarianism, women's rights, or the "humanity" of pets, this book goes to the heart of the question of why all animals matter.
Defending Animal Rights by
More than a contest of wills representing professional and economic interests, the animal rights debate is also and enduring topic in normative ethical theory. 'Defending Animal Rights' addresses the key isues in this sometimes acrimonious debate.
Without a Tear by
Beginning with our most cherished moral belief- that it is wrong to intentionally and gratuitously inflict harm upon the innocent- many of our most common practices involving animals stand in need of drastic revision. In Without a Tear Mark H. Bernstein begins with one of our most common and cherished moral beliefs: that it is wrong to intentionally and gratuitously inflict harm on the innocent. Over the course of the book, he shows how this apparently innocuous commitment requires that we drastically revise many of our most common practices involving nonhuman animals. Most people who write about our ethical obligations concerning animals base their arguments on emotional appeals or contentious philosophical assumptions. baggage. He considers the issues in a religious context, where he finds that Judaism in particular has the resources to ground moral obligations to animals. Without a Tear also makes novel use of feminist ethics to add to the case for drawing animals more closely into our ethical world. Bernstein details the realities of factory farms, animal-based research, and hunting fields, and contrasting these chilling facts with our moral imperatives clearly shows the need for fundamental changes to some of our most basic animal institutions. The tightly argued, provocative claims in Without a Tear will be an eye-opening experience for animal lovers, scholars, and people of good faith everywhere.
Speciesism by
Defining speciesism as "a failure, in attitude or practice, to accord any nonhuman being equal consideration and respect," this brilliant work critiques speciesism both outside and within the animal rights movement. The author demonstrates that much of the moral philosophy, legal theory, and animal advocacy aimed at advancing nonhuman emancipation actually perpetuate speciesism. Speciesism examines philosophy, law, and activism in terms of three categories: "old speciesism," "new speciesism," and species equality.Old-speciesists limit rights to humans. Speciesism refutes their standard arguments against nonhuman rights. Current law is old-speciesist -- legally, nonhumans have no rights. Dunayer shows that "animal laws" such as the Humane Slaughter Act afford nonhumans no meaningful protection. She also explains why welfarist campaigns are old-speciesist. Instead of opposing the abuse or killing of nonhuman beings, such campaigns seek only to make abuse or killing less cruel; they propose alternative ways of,violating nonhumans' moral rights. Many organizations that consider themselves animal rights advocates engage in old-speciesist campaigns, which reinforce the property status of nonhumans rather than promoting their emancipation.New-speciesists espouse rights for only some nonhumans, those whose minds seem most like those of humans. In addition to devaluing most animals, new-speciesists give greater moral consideration and stronger basic rights to humans than they do to any nonhumans. They see animalkind as a hierarchy, with humans at the top. Dunayer explains why she categorizes such theorists as Peter Singer, Tom Regan, and Steven Wise as new-speciesists.Nonspeciesists advocaterights for every sentient being. Speciesism makes the case that every creature with a nervous system should be regarded as sentient. The book provides compelling evidence of consciousness in animals often dismissed as insentien
Critical Theory and Animal Liberation by
Critical Theory and Animal Liberation is the first collection to approach our relationship with other animals from the critical or "left" tradition in political and social thought. Breaking with past treatments that have framed the problem as one of "animal rights," the authors instead depict the exploitation and killing of other animals as a political question of the first order. The contributions highlight connections between our everyday treatment of animals and other forms of social power, mass violence, and domination, from capitalism and patriarchy to genocide, fascism, and ecocide.Contributors include well-known writers in the field as well as scholars in other areas writing on animals for the first time. Among other things, the authors apply Freud's theory of repression to our relationship to the animal, debunk the "Locavore" movement, expose the sexism of the animal defense movement, and point the way toward a new transformative politics that would encompass the human and animal alike.
 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. |