Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Infectious Disease by Infectious Disease Policy Law, and Regulation looks at litigation regarding infection-related illnesses and their compensation. The claim arises from an individual victim who attempts to prove that the cause of their specific infection was the negligent act of an entity that is a vector of their type of illness, such as a hospital, surgeon, restaurant or retail marketplace."
Call Number: KF3800.O74 2015
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Controlled Substances by Drug offenders are a ubiquitous part of our criminal justice system. Approximately 1.5 million Americans were arrested for a drug offense in 2011, more than for any other single category of crime. Drug convictions have fueled an explosion in our prison population with drug offenders constituting nearly one quarter of our prison population. Indeed, with the number of Americans incarcerated for a drug offense today larger than the entire United States prison and jail population in 1980, it would not be an exaggeration to say that the single most important development within the field of criminal law over the past four decades has been the war on drugs. Controlled Substances: Crime, Regulation, and Policy provides a comprehensive overview of the many fascinating issues of law and policy related the criminalization and regulation of illegal drugs. The book begins with materials on the debate about prohibition and its alternatives, with a particular focus on the modern "war on drugs" model of prohibition. After establishing this foundation, the book turns its attention to the drug laws themselves, taking an in-depth look at controlled substances offenses, drug sentencing, and the investigation of drug crimes. The book then considers the body of administrative law that governs the classification of controlled substances and the use and distribution of controlled substance for medical purposes. Finally, the book concludes with an overview of international and comparative issues in drug law.
Call Number: KF3885.K74 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
Shooting Up by Most policymakers see counterinsurgency and counternarcotics policy as two sides of the same coin. Stop the flow of drug money, the logic goes, and the insurgency will wither away. But the conventional wisdom is dangerously wrongheaded, as Vanda Felbab-Brown argues inShooting Up. Counternarcotics campaigns, particularly those focused on eradication, typically fail to bankrupt belligerent groups that rely on the drug trade for financing. Worse, they actually strengthen insurgents by increasing their legitimacy and popular support. Felbab-Brown, a leading expert on drug interdiction efforts and counterinsurgency, draws on interviews and fieldwork in some of the world's most dangerous regions to explain how belligerent groups have become involved in drug trafficking and related activities, including kidnapping, extortion, and smuggling. Shooting Up shows vividly how powerful guerrilla and terrorist organizations -- including Peru's Shining Path, the FARC and the paramilitaries in Colombia, and the Taliban in Afghanistan -- have learned to exploit illicit markets. In addition, the author explores the interaction between insurgent groups and illicit economies in frequently overlooked settings, such as Northern Ireland, Turkey, and Burma. While aggressive efforts to suppress the drug trade typically backfire,Shooting Up shows that a laissez-faire policy toward illicit crop cultivation can reduce support for the belligerents and, critically, increase cooperation with government intelligence gathering. When combined with interdiction targeting major traffickers, this strategy gives policymakers a better chance of winning both the war against the insurgents and the war on drugs.
Call Number: HV5840.D44F45 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-24
Drugs and Society by The focus of this edited collection is a thoughtful multidisciplinary presentation of past and present U.S. drug policies and whether they are winning the so-called war on drugs (they aren't!). For the great majority of ills ascribed to drugs are actually caused by the black market created by drug prohibition; the more successful the war on drugs is in making the drug trade a dangerous business, the greater are the profits from increased prices, and hence the greater the incidence of disease, corruption, social disorder, and death. Drugs and Society provides individuals with the information they need to construct an alternative policy.
Call Number: HV5825.D7896 2006
Publication Date: 2005-09-21
Drugs and Policing by "This book fills a void in the literature by examining from a scientific perspective the official police response to drugs, drug use, abuse, and dealing and how the different levels of police agencies process drug cases. This book will appeal to a number of criminal justice, criminology, and sociology program courses on drug abuse. Professionals interested in learning more about the criminal justice response to the drug problem, as well as police academies may also find the book useful."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: HV5825.P333 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Dangerous Harvest by The global drug trade and its associated violence, corruption, and human suffering create global problems that include political and military conflicts, ethnic minority human rights violations, and stresses on economic development. Drug production and eradication affects the stability of many states, shaping and sometimes distorting their foreign policies. External demand for drugs has transformed many indigenous cultures from using local agricultural activity to being enmeshed in complex global problems. Dangerous Harvest presents a global overview of indigenous peoples' relations with drugs. It presents case studies from various cultural landscapes that are involved in drug plant production, trade, and use, and examines historical uses of illicit plant substances. It continues with coverage of eradication efforts, and the environmental impact of drug plant production. In its final chapter, it synthesizes the major points made and forecasts future directions of crop substitution programs, international eradication efforts, and changes in indigenous landscapes. The book helps unveil the farmer, not to glamorize those who grow drug plants but to show the deep historical, cultural, and economic ties between farmer and crop.
Call Number: HV5801.D39 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Sense and Nonsense about Crime and Drugs by Beginning with a succinct discussion of the administration of criminal justice in the United States, SENSE AND NONSENSE ABOUT CRIME AND DRUGS, FIFTH EDITION, evaluates conservative and liberal views on crime control proposals, guns and crimes, drug policies, the war on drugs, and the legalization of drugs. This text communicates complex ideas about how the criminal justice system operates and is affected by politics at a level that can be read by almost any student. The book concludes with a summary of the evidence and draws some conclusions about crime policy.
Call Number: HV9950.W35 2001
Publication Date: 2000-07-28
After Prohibition by More than 10 years ago, federal officials boldly claimed that they would create a drug-fee America by 1995.
Call Number: HV5825.A669 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-06
Drug Use and Drug Policy by First Published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: HV5825.D77725 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Marijuana Law in a Nutshell by Concise yet comprehensive text that provides an overview of marijuana law. It discusses important issues pertaining to public policy, legal history, constitutional law, criminal law, and jurisprudence, as well as practical legal issues that concern both marijuana-related businesses and individuals, in areas such as banking, employment, tax, bankruptcy, and child custody. The text provides in-depth coverage of federal laws governing marijuana, along with an overview of international, state, and local laws relating to marijuana regulation. It also provides an overview of arguments for and against medical and/or recreational legalization, as well as an analysis of how marijuana compares to other potentially harmful substances, both legal and illegal.
Call Number: KF3891.M2O83 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-17
Marijuana Legalization by Should marijuana be legalized? The latest Gallup poll reports that exactly half of Americans say "yes"; opinion couldn't be more evenly divided.Marijuana is forbidden by international treaties and by national and local laws across the globe. But those laws are under challenge in several countries. In the U.S., there is no short-term prospect for changes in federal law, but sixteen states allow medical use and recent initiatives to legalizeproduction and non-medical use garnered more than 40% support in four states. California's Proposition 19 nearly passed in 2010, and multiple states are expected to consider similar measures in the years to come. The debate and media coverage surrounding Proposition 19 reflected profound confusion, both about the current state of the world and about the likely effects of changes in the law. In addition, not all supporters of "legalization" agree on what it is they want to legalize: Just using marijuana?Growing it? Selling it? Advertising it? If sales are to be legal, what regulations and taxes should apply? Different forms of legalization might have very different results.Marijuana Legalization: What Everyone Needs to Know will provide readers with a non-partisan primer about the topic, covering everything from the risks and benefits of using marijuana, to describing the current laws around the drug in the U.S. and abroad. The authors discuss the likely costs andbenefits of legalization at the state and national levels and walk readers through the "middle ground" of policy options between prohibition and commercialized production. The authors also consider how marijuana legalization could personally impact parents, heavy users, medical users, drugtraffickers, and employers.
Call Number: HV5822.M3M2935 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-13
Global Pharmaceutical Policy by Pharmaceuticals play a central role in health care throughout the world. The pharmaceutical industry is beset with difficulties as increasing research and development expenditure yields fewer new treatments. Public and private budgets strain under the weight of high prices and limited access. The world's poor see little effort to address diseases prevalent in less affluent societies, while the world's wealthy are overusing prescription drugs, risking their health and wasting resources.The debate over health care reform and the ongoing global economic crisis form the backdrop for this extraordinarily timely examination of the global system for the development, production, distribution and use of medicines. The authors are acknowledged experts in the fields of pharmaceutical law and policy, with many years experience advising governments, multilateral organizations and policy-makers on issues involving innovation, access and use of medicines. Supported by a team of independent scientists, doctors and lawyers, they take an insightful look at the issues surrounding global regulation of the pharmaceutical sector, and offer pragmatic suggestions for reform.This book will be of interest to government policy-makers, members of industry, healthcare professionals, teachers, students and lawyers in the fields of public health, intellectual property and international trade.
Call Number: K3636.A93 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
Drugs and Empires by Drugs and Empires introduces new research that re-evaluates the relationship between intoxicants and empires in the modern world. It re-examines controversies about such issues as the Asian opium trade or the sale of alcohol in Africa and addresses new areas of research, including the impact of imperial drugs profits on American history.
Call Number: JV185.D78 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-17
The Legalization of Drugs by In the United States today, the use or possession of many drugs is a criminal offense. Can these criminal laws be justified? What are the best reasons to punish or not to punish drug users? These are the fundamental issues debated in this book by two prominent philosophers of law. Douglas Husak argues in favor of drug decriminalization, by clarifying the meaning of crucial terms, such as legalize, decriminalize, and drugs; and by identifying the standards by which alternative drug policies should be assessed. He critically examines the reasons typically offered in favor of our current approach and explains why decriminalization is preferable. Peter de Marneffe argues against drug legalization, demonstrating why drug prohibition, especially the prohibition of heroin, is necessary to protect young people from self-destructive drug use. If the empirical assumptions of this argument are sound, he reasons, drug prohibition is perfectly compatible with our rights to liberty.
Call Number: KF3890.H87 2005
Publication Date: 2005-08-29
The Slang and Jargon of Drugs and Drink by
Call Number: HV4998.S64 1986
Publication Date: 1986-02-01
Between Politics and Reason by Eric Goode gives an overview of drug use and abuse in America to give students a solid understanding of the issues and problems. Key arguments in the drug legalization debate are placed in a social and political perspective.
Call Number: HV5825.G627 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Drug Legalization by
Call Number: HV5825.D77665 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
War on Drugs by In this anthology of various opinions, questions are raised about the techniques used in the war against drugs, the nature of new strategies, & whether some drugs, particularly marijuana, should be legalized under certain conditions.
Call Number: HV5825.W381284 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The Enemy Is Us by There are alternatives to ending our government's War on Drugs. -- Offers in-depth analysis of how the war on drugs originated and how it has evolved. -- Asserts that the drug problem is made in America and that the government's war on drugs is replete with mistakes of the past. -- Includes startling facts about the lucrative illegal drug trade. -- Reveals shocking facts that before Prohibition, drug use was declining, and addiction ratios were far lower than today's.The Enemy Is Us lays out a new perspective on the war on drugs that will restore confidence in the reader that a sensible drug solution is possible. The book, which took six years to complete, solves the tangled drug problem with the boldness and precision that a 30-year background of military service in WWII, Korea and Vietnam have instilled in the author.Dowd, a Miami native, implores the government to take a cue from the failure of alcohol prohibition and consider what he believes is the only real solution to the problem -- repeal of drug prohibition and 25 years of the War on Drugs has only worsened the problem.I say put it on the ballot and either legalize (drugs) or get rid of them, but quit playing the games that enrich the evil, strengthen the violence, addict our children, and make us look pathetic and helpless. -- House Speaker Newt Gingrich in a speech before the RNC(The Enemy Is Us) sets forth, with much support, a conclusion that runs counter to both central thinking and the almost common agenda of both the Republican and Democratic parties. -- Major General John. O. Moench, USAF (Ret)
Call Number: HV5825.D69 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Public Health Law in a Nutshell by Public Health Law in a Nutshell, 3rd Edition (2018) provides a fascinating and informative assessment of the critical role of law in American society to protect the community's health. Understanding the field of public health law encompasses its constitutional sources and limits as well as historic and modern attempts to regulate in the interests of public health and safety. This Nutshell explains and addresses these issues within a modern framework supporting the role of law toward improved health outcomes. Updated to reflect key developments through mid-2017, the Nutshell's 11 chapters and 130+ graphics, illustrations, and figures lay out definitive legal issues underlying core public health powers to prevent and control communicable and chronic conditions, as well as injuries and related deaths. It also explores legal routes to counter other public health threats, including tobacco and alcohol use, guns, vehicles, and defective products. Additional chapters center on difficult trade-offs related to public health information surveillance and privacy, commercial speech regulation, zoning and the built environment, and emergency legal preparedness. This Nutshell is a "must have" text for legal or public health practitioners in the field, law- and policy-makers seeking to protect the public's health, and graduate students in schools of law, public health, or medicine, as well as undergraduates, assessing these issues as part of their coursework or research interests.
Call Number: KF3775.Z9H63 2018
Publication Date: ©2018
Drugs and Drug Policy by While there have always been norms and customs around the use of drugs, explicit public policies--regulations, taxes, and prohibitions--designed to control drug abuse are a more recent phenomenon. Those policies sometimes have terrible side-effects: most prominently the development of criminal enterprises dealing in forbidden (or untaxed) drugs and the use of the profits of drug-dealing to finance insurgency and terrorism. Neither a drug-free world nor a world of free drugs seems to be on offer, leaving citizens and officials to face the age-old problem: What are we going to do about drugs? In Drugs and Drug Policy, three noted authorities survey the subject with exceptional clarity, in this addition to the acclaimed series, What Everyone Needs to Know®. They begin, by defining "drugs," examining how they work in the brain, discussing the nature of addiction, and exploring the damage they do to users. The book moves on to policy, answering questions about legalization, the role of criminal prohibitions, and the relative legal tolerance for alcohol and tobacco. The authors then dissect the illicit trade, from street dealers to the flow of money to the effect of catching kingpins, and show the precise nature of the relationship between drugs and crime. They examine treatment, both its effectiveness and the role of public policy, and discuss the beneficial effects of some abusable substances. Finally they move outward to look at the role of drugs in our foreign policy, their relationship to terrorism, and the ugly politics that surround the issue. Crisp, clear, and comprehensive, this is a handy and up-to-date overview of one of the most pressing topics in today's world. What Everyone Needs to Know® is a registered trademark of Oxford University Press.
Call Number: HV5801.K54 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-13
Drugs, Crime and Public Health by Drugs, Crime and Public Health provides an accessible but critical discussion of recent policy on illicit drugs. Using a comparative approach - centred on the UK, but with insights and complementary data gathered from the USA and other countries - it discusses theoretical perspectives and provides new empirical evidence which challenges prevalent ways of thinking about illicit drugs. It argues that problematic drug use can only be understood in the social context in which it takes place, a context which it shares with other problems of crime and public health. The book demonstrates the social and spatial overlap of these problems, examining the focus of contemporary drug policy on crime reduction. This focus, Alex Stevens contends, has made it less, rather than more, likely that long-term solutions will be produced for drugs, crime and health inequalities. And he concludes, through examining competing visions for the future of drug policy, with an argument for social solutions to these social problems.
Call Number: HV5801.S774 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Drug War Heresies by This book provides the first multidisciplinary and nonpartisan analysis of how the United States should decide on the legal status of cocaine, heroin and marijuana. It draws on data about the experiences of Western European nations with less punitive drug policies as well as new analyses of America's experience with legal cocaine and heroin a century ago, and of America's efforts to regulate gambling, prostitution, alcohol and cigarettes. It offers projections on the likely consequences of a number of different legalization regimes and shows that the choice about how to regulate drugs involves complicated tradeoffs among goals and conflict among social groups. The book presents a sophisticated discussion of how society should deal with the uncertainty about the consequences of legal change. Finally, it explains, in terms of individual attitudes toward risk, why it is so difficult to accomplish substantial reform of drug policy in America.
Call Number: HV5825.M225 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-27
Drugs by No Marketing Blurb
Call Number: HV5825.D88 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Forces of Habit by Why are coffee, tobacco, and marijuana available the world over, but not peyote or qat? Why are alcohol and tobacco legal, but not heroin or cocaine? What drives the drug, and how has it come to be what it is today - a vast, chequered pattern of use and abuse, medicine and recreation, commerce and interdiction? A global history of the acquisition of progressively more potent means of altering ordinary waking consciousness, this book provides the big picture of the discovery, interchange, and exploitation of the planet's psychoactive resources, from tea and kola to opiates and amphetamines. Offering a social and biological account of why psychoactive goods proved so seductive, David Courtwright tracks the intersecting paths by which popular drugs entered the stream of global commerce. He shows how the efforts of merchants and colonial planters expanded world supply, drove down prices, and drew millions of less affluent purchasers into the market, effectively democratizing drug consumption.
Call Number: HV4997.C68 2001
Publication Date: 2001-03-23
Confronting the Drug Control Establishment by Examines the career of sociologist Alfred R. Lindesmith, who argued against drug prohibitions from the 1930s onward, warning of the threat to democracy and advocating more humane drug control laws.
Call Number: HM1031.L56K49 2000
Publication Date: 1999-11-18
Crack Cocaine, Crime, and Women by Sue Mahan provides an up-to-date, accessible discussion of the issues relevant to the debate on crack cocaine, crime and women. Following an in-depth overview, the book offers a broad and informed perspective on the legal, lifestyle and treatment issues central to women's addiction to crack cocaine. With sensitivity and compassion, the author also addresses the tragic consequences of children born to addicted mothers, stressing the importance for policy and resources to focus on the mutual well-being of mother and child.
Call Number: HV5824.W6M34 1996
Publication Date: 1996-08-23
The Phoenix Solution by "The drug problem has reached epidemic levels in this country, with Americans spending approximately $50 billion a year to buy them. It is the most serious internal crisis we've faced since the Civil War. Until now, no book or document in America has set forth a detailed, step-by-step plan for solving the nation's drug problem. The Phoenix Solution: Getting Serious About Winning America's Drug War does just that. It is a controversial, breakthrough book." "Written by Vincent Bugliosi, the nation's foremost prosecutor, The Phoenix Solution offers not only a startling analysis of current drug policy but an actual blueprint for bringing the crisis to an end. Bugliosi takes a hard look at the common assumptions about drugs and drug control that are the basis of our national policy. In the process, he reveals some astonishing facts about the inept techniques that have been used to fight the war on drugs." "Finally, he gets to the heart of this book: the revolutionary programs that we, as a nation, must adopt if we are to defeat this epidemic, which has already claimed millions of lives. Bugliosi outlines two separate, original approaches to drug control that promise to bring us victory within a year."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: HV5825.B84 1996
Publication Date: 1996-02-01