Title 12 of the U.S. Code contains 49 chapters that govern banks, credit unions, and other financial institutions in the United States. It is available on Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and other subscription databases, which include annotated versions of these statutes as well as the plain text. Title 12 is also available, unannotated, on government and many other publicly available websites, including the following:
Title 12 of the C.F.R. (Code of Federal Regulations) contains the federal regulations governing banking and banks. It is available on Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and other subscription databases, and is also available on many government and other publicly-available websites, including the following:
Selected Federal Statutes
Dodd-Frank Act (the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Financial Protection Act of 2010) was passed in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis and was designed to safeguard against a recurrence.
• Pub. L. Law 111-203, 124 Stat. 1326 (2010)
Banking Act of 1933 (the Glass-Steagall Act) in addition to establishing the FDIC as a temporary agency (it was later made permanent by the Banking Act of 1935, Pub. L. 74-305, 49 Stat. 684 (1935), Glass-Steagall separated commercial banking from investiment banking.
• Pub. L. 73-66, 48 Stat. 162 (1933)
Title XXV of the Crime Control Act of 1990 (the Comprehensive Thrift and Bank Fraud Prosecution and Taxpayer Recovery Act of 1990) expanded the authority of federal regulators to take action against financial fraud.
Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act of 1999 repealed the last surviving remnants of the Glass Steagall Act to allow affiliations between banks and insurance underwriters and the creation of new types of financial holding companies authorized to engage not just in underwriting and selling insurance and securities, but also in conducting both commercial and merchant banking, in developing and investing in real estate, and other "complimentary activities."
Legislative Histories
• Compiled GPO legislative histories, and bill texts, for the Federal Reserve Act, the McFadden Act, the Glass-Steagall Act, the Banking Act of 1935, and the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956.
Chapters 655, 657, 658, 660, 662, 663, 665, and 667, Fla. Statutes govern banks, credit unions, and other financial institutions. These statutes are available on Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and other subscription databases, which usually include annotated as well as unannotated (plain text) versions. The statutes are also available from a number of government and other publicly available websites, including the following:
Chapter 69U-100 through 69U-150, Fla. Admin. Code comprises the Florida Financial Institutions Rules.
Malloy's Banking and Financial Institutions Law in a Nutshell, 10th by
Authoritative coverage provides a foundation for understanding core concepts and recent developments in banking and financial institutions law. This Nutshell title covers subjects such as the history and structure of the financial services industry and its regulators, the interrelationship between banking law and monetary and economic policy, the regulation of banking itself (including market regulation, international banking, and thrift institutions), securities regulation, insurance regulation, and pension funds, retirement accounts and social security. The book concludes with an analysis of emerging issues in the law of financial intermediaries, including the need for harmonized rules in an increasingly transnational market, the impact of digital currencies and transactions on regulatory policy, and the threat that international crises pose for stable banking and financial markets.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowNew York Consolidated Laws: Title 3: Banking (NYS Legislature)
New York Codes, Rules and Regulations: Title 3: Banking (West's unofficial unannotated version)
Federal Agencies and Departments
State Agencies and Departments
 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. |
Banking Law Blogs: the American Bar Association maintains a list of blogs on banking law