Climate Change Research: Non-Governmental Sources

Scholarly society promoting research, information and study into the atmospheric science. Includes numerous reports and journal articles.

A project of the Arctic Council and the International Arctic Science Science Committee researching climate variability, climate change and increased ultraviolet radiation and their effects.

CCEIA is an independent, nonprofit, educational 501(c)3 institution serving international affairs professionals, teachers and students, and the attentive public.

Center for Health and the Global Environment which is a division of the Harvard Medical School researching the health effects of climate change.

A grassroots organization advocating climate change initiatives in Virginia, Maryland, and Washington D.C.

The Yale Project on Climate Change Communication:

1.Conducts original research on public climate change awareness, attitudes, risk perceptions, policy support, and behavior;

2.Designs and tests new strategies to engage the public in climate science and solutions;

3.Empowers educators and communicators with the knowledge and tools to more effectively engage their audiences.

The CCKP provides a web-based platform to assist in capacity building and knowledge development. The aim of the portal is to help provide development practitioners with a resource to explore, evaluate, synthesize, and learn about climate related vulnerabilities and risks at multiple levels of details. Using climate science research results to inform the decision making process concerning policies or specific measures needed to tackle climate impacts, or even to understand low carbon development processes, is often a difficult, yet crucial, undertaking.

The CCKP contains environmental, disaster risk, and socio-economic datasets, as well as synthesis products, such as the Climate Adaptation Country Profiles, which are built and packaged for specific user-focused functions such as climate change indices for a particular country. The portal also provides intelligent links to other resources and tools.

This organization's mission is to "Catalyze innovative and practical solutions for climate change adaptation, mitigation, and climate stabilization, contribute to scientific research and communicate the results of that research in an accurate and comprehensive manner," to "create partnerships among policymakers, scientists, the public and environmental institutions at the local, national and international levels to address the climate challenge more effectively," and to "provide objective and comprehensive information on climate change risks and potential responses." It has less of a focus on the law than Climate Justice and purports to contribute objective information to the climate change discussion.

American Meteorological Society Project

A nonprofit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs, based in NYC.

Research-quality climate modeling that can run on personal computers. With the software, design experiments and run simulations. The EdGCM Project, which includes exercises on global warming, is supported by the National Science Foundation and NASA.

Joint research program of 13 European research institutions that aimed to advance understanding of the new actors, institutions and mechanisms of global governance. While it addressed the phenomenon of global governance in general, most of their research projects focused on global environmental change and governance for sustainable development.

It assesses a range of information on human-caused climate change. Nobel Peace-Prize winner, IPCC includes a number of reports.

The IPCC is a scientific body. It reviews and assesses the most recent scientific, technical and socio-economic information produced worldwide relevant to the understanding of climate change. It does not conduct any research nor does it monitor climate related data or parameters.

Research portal and database from Harvard University's Shorstein's Center

Commentary site on climate science by working climate scientists for the interested public and journalists.

Non-partisan think tank researching climate changes and the environment. Founded in 1952.

The World Climate Change Report is a searchable news source that's organized by hot topics, country, agency and international organization. Provides information on climate change and clean energy issues.

BNA is a resource of over 90 titles covering legal and regulatory developments in business and government. Many of these resources have an email update service for FSU law faculty and students.

Current awareness publications from E&E Publishing, including E&E Daily, Greenwire, Land Letter, E&E News PM, and ClimateWire.

Provides access to daily updates and analysis of environmental cases, statutes, regulations, and policy guidelines. State, national, and international issues are covered.

Online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. Updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources.

Jurist is a web-based legal news and real-time legal research service.

A collection of articles, slide shows, videos, interactive graphics, etc. -- All on climate change and global warming.