Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Treatises on Drug Law
Comprehensive research starts here! Broad scope and analysis of your topic, abundant citations to primary sources, and commentary and practice tips from experts in the field!
Controlled Substances Handbook
(password required, Westlaw Next)
Explains DEA requirements for manufacturing, storing, securing, shipping, distributing, importing and exporting controlled substances.
Drinking/Driving Litigation, Criminal and Civil
Covers DUI legal issues including prior convictions, arrests, chemical testing, sentencing & appeal; also extensive scientific information on alcohol's effects on the body and medical testing.
Drug Abuse and the Law Sourcebook
Includes definitions & classifications of controlled substances, what constitutes legal v. illegal drug use; covers recent developments in drug law & enforcement, analysis of major drug cases.
Drug & Medical Device Product Liability Deskbook
Covers all aspects of litigation involving drugs, medical devices, vaccines, and other FDA-regulated prescription products.
Drug Product Liability
Offers detailed analysis of litigation involving frequently prescribed drugs and medical devices, discussing the unique responsibility of each party: manufacture, physician, hospital, nurse and pharmacist.
Drug Testing Law, Technology & Practice
Authoritative legal analysis of U.S. Supreme Court cases, model acts, collective bargaining and labor law issues and more; also includes how to start and audit a drug testing program.
Drug Testing Legal Manual
Expert analysis of pertinent statutory and common law issues helps you successfully represent clients in cases involving private, government, and pre-employment testing; also various standards and technical guidelines for drug testing and listing of drug abuse authorities.
Drugs in Litigation: Damage Awards Involving Prescription and Nonprescription Drugs
Summarizes hundreds of trial and appellate decisions; subjects include adverse reactions & allergies, prescription errors, failure to warn or test, delay in treatment, synergistic actions, informed consent of patient, and more.
FDA Enforcement Manual
Comprehensive guide to the FDA's enforcement authority, policies and practices.
Food & Drug Administration (3rd ed.)
Encyclopedic legal guide, covering FDA practices, administrative enforcement, and court proceedings.
Food, Drug & Cosmetics Law Reporter
Federal and state laws and regulations and court decisions.
Handling Drunk Driving Cases (2d)
Expert commentary on practical ways to handle a drunk-driving case, including crime scene and arrest, determining intoxication, jury selection, search and seizure, motion practice and more.
Handling Narcotic & Drug Cases
Practice-proven advice for handling drug-using clients, developing trial strategies, drug identification tests, expert witnesses; how to prepare for every critical phase of a state or federal narcotics case.
Information on Individual Drugs
Here Are Your Primary Sources!
Websites & Free Internet Resources
Center for Substance Abuse Research (CESAR)
Research Institute at the University of Maryland; conducts and analyzes research on substance abuse-related problems.
Common Sense for Drug Policy
A non-profit organization dedicated to reforming drug policy, and disseminating factual information and comments on existing laws, policies and practices.
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), U.S. Department of Justice
Agency tasked with enforcing the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States; website has a wealth of information, including top stories, latest news, drug fact sheets and resource guide, multi-media resource library and much more.
Food and Drug Administration: Drugs
Agency that oversees the safety & effectiveness of all drugs; website has a wealth of information on drug approvals and databases, drug safety and availability, the drug development and approval process, compliance and regulatory information, science & research, news & events; resources for consumers, healthcare professionals, and the pharmaceutical industry.
Food and Drug Law Institute (FDLI)
A non-profit organization that provides a marketplace for discussing food and drug law issues.
Humboldt Institute for Interdisciplinary Marijuana Research
Research and analysis organization created to fill information gaps about marijuana issues; promotes scholarly scientific study, with no advocacy positions taken.
MedlinePlus: Drug Abuse
From the National Library of Medicine, of the National Institutes of Health; information about drugs, latest news, clinical trials, abuse and addiction, substance abuse recovery, and more.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
A federally funded resource offering justice and drug related information to support research, policy, and program development.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
From the National Institutes of Health, information on drugs of abuse, latest science, data and statistics, funding for researchers, news & events.
National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML)
Information resource to national media on marijuana-related stories, lobbies to permit the medical use of marijuana, provides information on marijuana for personal and medical use, drug testing, legal issues.
Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)
Establishes policies, priorities, and objectives for the Nation's drug control program.
Punishment and Prejudice: Racial Disparities in the War on Drugs rugso
Human Rights Watch report on racially disproportionate drug arrests and incarcerations.