The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook by 
Punish Seduce or Persuade by
Many kinds of interventions have been designed and implemented to combat digital copyright infringement, a type of cyber-deviance that is also known as 'digital piracy'. However, it is not clear whether such measures are indeed effective in reducing this type of deviance. This research sets out out to examine the functioning of these interventions from an empirical perspective. The persistence of digital copyright infringement presents various challenges to governments, the creative industries and other stakeholders that attempt to curtail digital piracy. The author combines both traditional and innovative research methods in order to establish whether and to what extent these interventions are able to curtail digital piracy. This book is of interest to organisations and individuals that are in charge of developing copyright laws and policy or the enforcement thereof. The focus on the evaluation of digital policy also makes the book relevant to evaluators, criminologists and those interested in digital behaviour and digital policy. Revised Dissertation. [Subject: Criminology, Digital Crime]~
This link opens in a new window
Hate Crimes in Cyberspace by
Most Internet users are familiar with trollingâe"aggressive, foul-mouthed posts designed to elicit angry responses in a siteâe(tm)s comments. Less familiar but far more serious is the way some use networked technologies to target real people, subjecting them, by name and address, to vicious, often terrifying, online abuse. In an in-depth investigation of a problem that is too often trivialized by lawmakers and the media, Danielle Keats Citron exposes the startling extent of personal cyber-attacks and proposes practical, lawful ways to prevent and punish online harassment. A refutation of those who claim that these attacks are legal, or at least impossible to stop, Hate Crimes in Cyberspace reveals the serious emotional, professional, and financial harms incurred by victims. Persistent online attacks disproportionately target women and frequently include detailed fantasies of rape as well as reputation-ruining lies and sexually explicit photographs. And if dealing with a single attackerâe(tm)s âeoerevenge pornâe#157; were not enough, harassing posts that make their way onto social media sites often feed on one another, turning lone instigators into cyber-mobs. Hate Crimes in Cyberspace rejects the view of the Internet as an anarchic Wild West, where those who venture online must be thick-skinned enough to endure all manner of verbal assault in the name of free speech protection, no matter how distasteful or abusive. Cyber-harassment is a matter of civil rights law, Citron contends, and legal precedents as well as social norms of decency and civility must be leveraged to stop it.
Global Internet Law (Hornbook) by
The Global Internet Law Hornbook provides law students, practitioners, judges, and policymakers with a comprehensive examination of the latest case law and statutory developments. Each chapter is a detailed examination of cases, statutes, industry standards, norms, as well as leading academic commentaries. While the emphasis is on U.S. developments, each chapter compares U.S. to EU regulations, directives, and conventions, as well as other cross-border Internet law developments from diverse legal systems around the world. This timely and up-to-date Hornbook comprehensively examines Internet technologies, Internet governance, private international law (jurisdiction, choice of law, forum selection and enforcement of judgment), online contacts (mass market, cloud computing service level agreements, social media terms of use software licensing, and e-commerce terms of service), global consumer protection in cyberspace (FTC, state and foreign developments), global Internet torts (including CDA Section 230 developments, Internet security, information torts, and negligent enablement), Internet-related privacy (including the EU Data Directive) global cybercrimes (including state, federal and international developments), privacy (including extensive coverage of The General Data Protection Regulation and the Right To Be Forgotten), content regulations (U.S. vs. European Union), copyrights in cyberspace, trademarks and domain names, Internet-related trade secrets and patent law developments. Global Internet Law is increasingly important for all lawyers, whether they are policymakers, transactional lawyers, or litigators. This Hornbook is organized around the major issues in each substantive and procedural area of law in the most accessible, contemporary, and effective manner. To help readers come to grips with the necessity of approaching the subject from a transnational perspective, this book surveys the best available U.S. and foreign cases, statutes, and commentaries covering global Internet Law developments.
Making Laws for Cyberspace by
Providing a scholarly analysis of how to govern and make the right kinds of laws for cyberspace, in this work, Professor Reed investigates the vast majority of cyberspace users who wish to act lawfully and asks whether the current state of law in cyberspace makes it possible for them to do so. If not, why not, and what is the cure?In this book, Professor Reed puts forward a new model for cyberspace laws which focuses on human actions rather than the technology used. Arguing that, in cyberspace, law works primarily through voluntary obedience rather than fear of enforcement, Professor Reed explains his thoughtful and controversial new viewpoint as to how cyberspace laws should be devised and re-opens the debate as to the value of law for regulating cyberspace and how best to influence the behaviour of cyberspace actors. The only text to comprehensively analyse European cyberspace lawmaking, this book provides a new perspective to the debate about the proper shape and scope of internet laws.
Software and Internet Law by
Among the first casebooks in the field, Software and Internet Law presents clear and incisive writing, milestone cases and legislation, and questions and problems that reflect the authors' extensive knowledge and classroom experience. Technical terms are defined in context to make the text accessible for students and professors with minimal background in technology, the software industry, or the Internet. Always ahead of the curve, the Fourth Edition adds coverage and commentary on developing law, such as the Digital Millennium Copyright Act's Safe Harbor, the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, and the Stored Communications Act. Hard-wired features of Software and Internet Law include: consistent focus on how lawyers service the software industry and the Internet broad coverage of all aspects of U.S. software and internet law;with a focus on intellectual property, licensing, and cyberlaw The Fourth Edition responds to this fast-changing field with coverage of : the Digital Millennium Copyright Act's Safe Harbor the Electronic Communications Privacy Act the Stored Communications Act Hot News; Misappropriation Civil Uses of the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act
Global Internet Law in a Nutshell by
Global Internet Law in a Nutshell presents a very timely overview of legal issues that arise from the World Wide Web. Topics include Internet-driven technologies such as Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Bitcoins, The Internet of Things, 3D Products Liability, and Driverless Cars. This edition emphasizes the legal and policy issues arising out of social media such as Twitter's decision to permanently ban President Trump from its platform. The goal is to provide the reader with an up-to-date summary of the most important new cases and statutory developments. Each chapter provides the latest developments in Internet Law from the European Union such as the General Data Protection Regulation, which is setting a global standard for privacy and data protection. Each chapter has examples and explanations of Internet Law developments from around the world. This Nutshell provides global coverage of recurring Internet issues that lawyers and law students will encounter in practice. It also serves as a useful introduction for non-lawyers and graduate as well as undergraduate students in diverse disciplines such as computer science, business, nursing, sociology, law and society and criminology.
Lessons from the Identity Trail by
During the past decade, rapid developments in information and communications technology have transformed key social, commercial and political realities. Within that same time period, working at something less than internet speed, much of the academic and policy debates arising from these new and emerging technologies have been fragmented. There have been few examples of interdisciplinary dialogue about the potential for anonymity and privacy in a networked society. Lessons from the Identity Trail fills that gap, and examines key questions about anonymity, privacy and identity in an environment that increasingly automates the collection of personal information and uses surveillance to reduce corporate and security risks. This project has been informed by the results of a multi-million dollar research project that has brought together a distinguished array of philosophers, ethicists, feminists, cognitive scientists, lawyers, cryptographers, engineers, policy analysts, government policy makers and privacy experts. Working collaboratively over a four-year period and participating in an iterative process designed to maximize the potential for interdisciplinary discussion and feedback through a series of workshops and peer review, the authors have integrated crucial public policy themes with the most recent research outcomes.
The Criminal Law of Intellectual Property and Information by
This casebook defines a new field that combines two disciplines, criminal law and intellectual property. The casebook first reviews traditional larceny and civil misappropriation law. Subsequent chapters present various types of conduct (theft, misappropriation, infringement) that target specific kinds of property (trade secrets, copyrights, confidential business information, and personal identifying information). The material focuses on substantive law and policy and provides theoretical rationales for assigning rights in intellectual property; it is thus readily accessible to all students. This flexible casebook can serve in a stand-alone upper-level course or as a supplement in intellectual property or advanced criminal law classes.
Cyberlaw by
This text provides a basic course in the legal aspects of Internet law (cyberlaw) to be taken by undergraduate and graduate students in diverse disciplines. There are no prerequisites of extensive prior legal knowledge but rather it assumes only a very basic knowledge of general law.
Law and Internet Cultures by
This 2005 book raises the profile of socio-political questions about the global technology and information market. It is a close study of communication flows, networks, nodes, biopolitics and the fragmentations of power. It brings to life the role played by personalities, corporate interactions, industry compromises and the regulatory incompetencies, affecting the technological world we all live in. US technology powers the internet and disseminates American culture on an unprecedented scale. Assessing this power requires an analysis of the diffuse ways that US practice, policy and law dominates, and a consideration of how influence is negotiated and resisted locally. This involves a discussion about how ideas about trade and innovation circulate; of the social power of engineers that establish conventions and protocols; of the reach of Leviathan corporations; and questions about global marketing and consumer tastes. For readers interested in intellectual property law, information technology, cultural studies, globalisation and mass communications.
The Digital Person by
A startling account of personal data dossiers and the newest grave threat to privacy Seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day, electronic databases are compiling information about you. As you surf the Internet, an unprecedented amount of your personal information is being recorded and preserved forever in the digital minds of computers. For each individual, these databases create a profile of activities, interests, and preferences used to investigate backgrounds, check credit, market products, and make a wide variety of decisions affecting our lives. The creation and use of these databases--which Daniel J. Solove calls "digital dossiers"--has thus far gone largely unchecked. In this startling account of new technologies for gathering and using personal data, Solove explains why digital dossiers pose a grave threat to our privacy. The Digital Person sets forth a new understanding of what privacy is, one that is appropriate for the new challenges of the Information Age. Solove recommends how the law can be reformed to simultaneously protect our privacy and allow us to enjoy the benefits of our increasingly digital world. This is the first volume in the series EX MACHINA: LAW, TECHNOLOGY, AND SOCIETY.
Cybercrime by
Cybercrime is a legal workbook for anyone involved in the rapidly developing area of cybercrime. It comprehensively covers: determining what conduct is considered a cybercrime, investigating improper cyber conduct, trying a cybercrime case as a prosecuting or defending attorney, and handling the international aspects of cybercrime. As technology grows increasingly complex, so does computer crime. In this third edition, Clifford leads a team of nationally known experts in cybercrime (gathered from the diverse fields of academia, private, and governmental practice) to unfold the legal mysteries of computer crime. The book explores the variety of crimes that involve computer technology and provides essential details on procedural and tactical issues associated with the prosecution and defense of a cybercrime. The authors' insight will be of great interest to criminal prosecution and defense attorneys, law enforcement officers, and students of computer or modern criminal law.
The Law of Defamation and the Internet by
The Internet is the first truly global communications medium. Anyone with a computer and an Internet connection can publish material to a potentially vast audience located in any number of countries around the world. The Internet is, at the same time, a great bastion of free speech and a medium of almost limitless international defamation.This title contains the first comprehensive analysis of the application of Anglo-Australian rules of civil defamation law to material published via the Internet. As well as addressing the common law rules as they apply in the United Kingdom and Australia, it covers the operation of statutory modifications of the common law in each jurisdiction, the specific defences applying to Internet intermediaries, the European Union's Electronic Commerce Directive and comparative case-law from the United States. It also contains a substantial treatment of the relevant principles of jurisdiction and choice of law. The work contains a clear and non-technical explanation of how the Internet works and the various ways in which it is used to publish material. Common Internet terms are defined in a glossary. Relevant legislation has been extracted and reproduced.As this is a field in which there are, as yet, few authorities and a large number of untested issues, the author's systematic approach towards the cause of action, defences and remedies, coupled with the frequent use of contextual examples, means this work will maintain its relevance in this fast moving area of the law. The title will be an invaluable reference for practitioners, Internet professionals, and students alike.
Regulating Cyberspace by
This visionary book presents an interdisciplinary and cogent approach to the issue of Internet governance and control. By examining five critical areas in which the tension between freedom and control is most palpable--fair competition and open access, free expression, intellectual property, privacy rights, and security--Spinello guides the reader on a tour of the emerging body of law and public policy that has attempted to control the anarchy of cyberspace. In so doing, he defends the credo of Internet self-regulation, asserting that the same powerful and flexible architectures that created the Internet as we know it today can be relied upon to aid the private sector in arriving at a workable, decentralized regulatory regime. Except in certain circumstances that require government involvement, self-regulation is not only viable but is a highly preferred alternative to the forced uniformity that centralized structures tend to impose. Beginning with an exploration of the Internet's most important values, including universality, free expression, and open access, as well as its promise as a democratizing force, Spinello considers how we can most effectively preserve those values and fulfill that promise while curtailing the social harms that vex Internet users. How do we arrive at the right mixture of technology and policy so that the Internet does not lose its promise as a liberating technology? In examining this question, Spinello evaluates such architectures of control as filters and rights management protocols, which attempt to keep out unwanted information and protect intellectual property, respectively. He explores how these and other technologies can be designed and used responsibly so that online social order can be sustained with a minimal amount of government intervention.
Cybersecurity for the Home and Office by
This title helps individuals take control of their cybersecurity. Every day in the news, we see cybercrime -- a multi-billion-dollar-a-year criminal industry whose actors have little fear of law enforcement. Incidents of cybercrime and cybercrime-related identity theft continue to grow exponentially. As a result, governments, regulators, and professional bodies increasingly require that lawyers and other professionals take reasonable cybersecurity measures. Beyond protecting workplaces from cybertheft or intrusion, there's also a need to protect ourselves and our families from these threats. Cybersecurity for the Home and Office: The Lawyer's Guide to Taking Charge of Your Own Information Security will make it easier to understand cyber risks so a decision can be made as to where to set the "cybersecurity dial" in home and office.
This link opens in a new window
Intellectual Privacy : rethinking civil liberties in the digital age by
Most people believe that the right to privacy is inherently at odds with the right to free speech. Courts all over the world have struggled with how to reconcile the problems of media gossip with our commitment to free and open public debate for over a century. The rise of the Internet hasmade this problem more urgent. We live in an age of corporate and government surveillance of our lives. And our free speech culture has created an anything-goes environment on the web, where offensive and hurtful speech about others is rife. How should we think about the problems of privacy and free speech? In Intellectual Privacy, Neil Richards offers a different solution, one that ensures that our ideas and values keep pace with our technologies. Because of the importance of free speech to free and open societies, he argues that whenprivacy and free speech truly conflict, free speech should almost always win. Only when disclosures of truly horrible information are made (such as sex tapes) should privacy be able to trump our commitment to free expression. But in sharp contrast to conventional wisdom, Richards argues that speechand privacy are only rarely in conflict. America's obsession with celebrity culture has blinded us to more important aspects of how privacy and speech fit together. Celebrity gossip might be a price we pay for a free press, but the privacy of ordinary people need not be. True invasions of privacylike peeping toms or electronic surveillance will rarely merit protection as free speech. And critically, Richards shows how most of the law we enact to protect online privacy pose no serious burden to public debate, and how protecting the privacy of our data is not censorship.More fundamentally, Richards shows how privacy and free speech are often essential to each other. He explains the importance of "intellectual privacy", protection from surveillance or interference when we are engaged in the processes of generating ideas - thinking, reading, and speaking withconfidantes before our ideas are ready for public consumption. In our digital age, in which we increasingly communicate, read, and think with the help of technologies that track us, increased protection for intellectual privacy has become an imperative. What we must do, then, is to worry less aboutbarring tabloid gossip, and worry much more about corporate and government surveillance into the minds, conversations, reading habits, and political beliefs of ordinary people. A timely and provocative book on a subject that affects us all, Intellectual Privacy will radically reshape the debate about privacy and free speech in our digital age.
Internet Law for the Business Lawyer by
Learn how the internet has changed the business landscape. This practical book explains the many significant ways the internet and regulations have changed the way business lawyers do business. The book is designed to provide the business lawyer with a toolkit for advising clients in the online environment.
Internet Crimes, Torts and Scams by
Internet Crimes, Torts and Scams: Investigation and Remedies helps attorneys understand the increasing range of illegal and malicious internet activity and a similarly expanding number of response or enforcement options. Reflecting a "real-world" dynamic, the book is problem-oriented and cuts across many practice areas including intellectual property enforcement, libel, third-party liability, forensics, and global jurisdictional issues. It will aid practitioners who need to identify not only the type of problem a client faces but how to investigate and best respond to protect a client's interests in any given situation. In Internet Crimes, Torts and Scams, Melise Blakeslee draws upon her extensive experience investigating and litigating internet-based legal problems to produce a unique and accessible book for any attorney advising a client on internet-related risks. Topics covered in this comprehensive text include: investigation techniques such as how to interpret email headers, global jurisdiction, investigation of counterfeiters, intellectual property, the problems of anonymity on the Internet, and preparation of complaints. Also included are extensive appendices, including ICANN complaints, motions, a list of online resources, and guidelines for the seizure of electronic evidence. In the Second Edition, all chapters have been thoroughly updated to reflect developments related to key word advertising, trademark infringement, and "hot news." New sections on quasi in rem jurisdiction, false light, and jurisdictional issues in trademark and copyright disputes have been added. In addition, there are new practice tips and updated appendices reflecting changes in ICANN rules for dispute procedures.
Cybersecurity by
It is impossible to overstate the importance of America's cyber infrastructure to our individual welfare and national security. Yet, cybercrime is rampant. Critical systems are vulnerable to malicious forms of electronic intrusion and interference. The U.S. is both the source and target of international cyber aggression. How the U.S. responds to these challenges depends partly on questions within the specialized domain of scientists and engineers. But questions of policy, well within the understanding of non-expert citizens, also loom large - and the public, by and large, is not discussing them. Cybersecurity: Shared Risks, Shared Responsibilities aims to make key issues accessible to a broad readership. Experts in law, business, public policy, information and computer science, and national security have joined in this volume to stimulate an informed public dialogue that moves past political shibboleths and toward a nuanced understanding of the cybersecurity challenge and the tradeoffs entailed in formulating a sensible national response. Their work focuses on a variety of key issues largely missing from most cybersecurity discussions: Why is the formulation of coherent national cyber policy so difficult? Under what circumstances can public-private partnerships--the oft-touted institutional vehicle for promoting cybersecurity--actually be expected to work? What are the appropriate roles for legal regulation, whether at the state, national, and international level? Has our federal government conceptualized its role and organized its resources to counter cyber threats more effectively? Can the general public play a more meaningful role in shaping national cybersecurity policy?
Investigating Cyber Law and Cyber Ethics by
Investigating Cyber Law and Cyber Ethics: Issues, Impacts and Practices discusses the impact of cyber ethics and cyber law on information technologies and society. Featuring current research, theoretical frameworks, and case studies, the book will highlight the ethical and legal practices used in computing technologies, increase the effectiveness of computing students and professionals in applying ethical values and legal statues, and provide insight on ethical and legal discussions of real-world applications.
Cyber Law by
Cyber Law is a comprehensive guide for navigating all legal aspects of the Internet. This book is a crucial asset for online businesses and entrepreneurs. Whether you're doing business online as a company or a consumer, you need to understand your rights. Trout successfully places legal complexities into digital perspective with his latest book. -- Chris Pirillo - Founder of Lockergnome CyberLaw is a must-read for anyone doing business-or just chatting or socializing - on the Internet. Without us realizing it, more and more laws are being passed each year, laws and restrictions that significantly increase the likelihood that you're skirting, or even breaking some laws when you post that restaurant review, write about the bad date you had last week, or complain about a previous employer. Your choices are easy: read CyberLaw or suffer the potential consequences. -- Dave Taylor, Entrepreneur and Strategic Business Consultant, Intuitive.com Brett Trout has the bottom-line, honest, insightful, straightfowardest, most clear-headed take on intellectual property issues you could want. He's your way out of the maze. -- John Shirley, scriptwriter and author
Cyberlaw by
With the expansion of the internet and the world wide web, comes the very real potential for loss of control of intellectual property of all kinds, whether text or graphic, whether copyrighted or trademarked. In addition, business and financial issues, as well as social issues such as privacy and obscenity are also covered. Through the use of case studies and analysis,Cyberlaw presents a wide variety of legal and ethical issues relating to internet law and intellectual property protection.
Law and the Information Superhighway by
Make sure you're on the cutting edge of cyberspace law and emerging technologies. With Law And The Information Superhighway, Second Edition, you'll get detailed discussions of intellectual property, access rights, tort and criminal liability, and privacy. There's also a thorough analysis of the major legal issues that arise as the National Information Infrastructure (NII) matures. And you'll get a wealth of checklists, sample agreements, and much more! Annual updates keep pace with the rapidly changing regulatory environment, In the U.S. And internationally, As the Internet systems of the world.
Cyberlaw - Problems of Policy and Jurisprudence in the Information Age by
This law school casebook starts from the premise that cyberlaw is not simply a set of legal rules governing online interaction, but a lens through which broader issues can be re-examined. The book goes beyond simply plugging Internet-related cases into a series of pre-existing categories, instead emphasizing conceptual debates that cut across the areas of doctrine touched by cyberspace. It also uses the rise of the Internet to encourage readers to reconsider various assumptions in traditional legal doctrine, providing training in Internet-related legal issues while making the argument that cyberlaw is a coherent and useful field of study.
In Search of Jefferson's Moose by
In 1787, Thomas Jefferson, then the American Minister to France, had the "complete skeleton, skin and horns" of an American moose shipped to him in Paris and mounted in the lobby of his residence as a symbol of the vast possibilities contained in the strange and largely unexplored New World. Taking a cue from Jefferson's efforts, David Post, one of the nation's leading Internet scholars, here presents a pithy, colorful exploration of the still mostly undiscovered territory of cyberspace--what it is, how it works, and how it should be governed. What law should the Internet have, and who should make it? What are we to do, and how are we to think, about online filesharing and copyright law, about Internet pornography and free speech, about controlling spam, and online gambling, and cyberterrorism, and the use of anonymous remailers, or the practice of telemedicine, or the online collection and dissemination of personal information? How can they be controlled? Should they be controlled? And by whom? Post presents the Jeffersonian ideal--small self-governing units, loosely linked together as peers in groups of larger and larger size--as a model for the Internet and for cyberspace community self-governance. Deftly drawing on Jefferson's writings on the New World in Notes on the State of Virginia, Post draws out the many similarities (and differences) between the two terrains, vividly describing how the Internet actually functions from a technological, legal, and social perspective as he uniquely applies Jefferson's views on natural history, law, and governance in the New World to illuminate the complexities of cyberspace. In Search of Jefferson's Moose is a lively, accessible, and remarkably original overview of the Internet and what it holds for the future.
Privacy and the Media by
Author Website: http://informationprivacylaw.com In Privacy and the Media, Daniel Solove and Paul Schwartz provide thorough coverage of issues involving privacy, freedom of speech, and freedom of the press. Privacy and the Media examines privacy torts, First Amendment restrictions on privacy torts, and the key cases and legislation that shape the legal landscape of information privacy law and the media. An engaging introduction to the topic and an ideal text for a wide range of courses, Privacy and the Media features: In-depth coverage of information privacy law and media issues Privacy torts and— intrusion upon seclusion, public disclosure of private facts, false light, and appropriation of name or likeness Defamation, First Amendment limitations on defamation law, and defamation online First Amendment restrictions on privacy torts The right of publicity and intentional infliction of emotional distress A general introduction to privacy, including philosophical perspectives on the concept and value of privacy, economic and sociological perspectives, leading arguments for and against privacy, and a broad overview of the history and development of privacy law Important statutory material The Video Voyeurism Prevention Act The California Anti-Paparazzi Act The Communications Decency Act, and#167; 230 A rich selection of landmark and milestone cases and materials, such as Warren and Brandeisand’s and“The Right to Privacyand” Sidis v. F-R Publishing Corp., Sipple v. Chronicle Publishing Co., Schulman v. Group W Productions, Inc., and other cases exploring the tension between the privacy torts and free speech Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, Florida Star v. B.J.F., Bartnicki v.Vopper , and other U.S. Supreme Court cases involving the First Amendment limitations on privacy protections New York Times v. Sullivan, Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., Zeran v. America Online, Inc., and other cases involving defamation, libel, public figures, and online speech. Timely discussion of blogging and Internet gossip Clear and concise explanations of the law Casebook Website: http://informationprivacylaw.com
Real Law @ Virtual Space by
The first edition of Real Law @ Virtual Space explored the historical and ever-changing aspects of the regulation of communication in cyberspace. Much has changed in the intervening four years as legislators, service providers, consumers and courts grapple with fundamental principles and nuances of regulation, particularly as daily social, political, economic and commercial life moves increasingly into cyberspace. The second edition of this volume addresses the foundation of regulation while reporting on the most current evolving regulatory measures. The technology of communication challenges developments in applicable laws governing rights of privacy, free expression, and liability. Specifically, developments in such areas as obscenity, libel, copyright and intellectual property, linking liability, and cybercrime are considered. In addition, the volume examines existing law and explores the issues that will require legislative and judicial attention in the near future as the law develops and focuses upon communicative rights and liabilities. The volume focuses on developments within the United States, but it also deals with the challenges to jurisdiction in transnational cyberspace.
The Cambridge Handbook of Surveillance Law by
Surveillance presents a conundrum: how to ensure safety, stability, and efficiency while respecting privacy and individual liberty. From police officers to corporations to intelligence agencies, surveillance law is tasked with striking this difficult and delicate balance. That challenge is compounded by ever-changing technologies and evolving social norms. Following the revelations of Edward Snowden and a host of private-sector controversies, there is intense interest among policymakers, business leaders, attorneys, academics, students, and the public regarding legal, technological, and policy issues relating to surveillance. This handbook documents and organizes these conversations, bringing together some of the most thoughtful and impactful contributors to contemporary surveillance debates, policies, and practices. Its pages explore surveillance techniques and technologies; their value for law enforcement, national security, and private enterprise; their impacts on citizens and communities; and the many ways societies do - and should - regulate surveillance.
Cybersecurity Best Practices for Legal Services Providers 2017 by 
Guide to Cybersecurity Due Diligence in M&a Transactions by
"Almost all acquisitions involve Intellectual Property assets and Internet/IT considerations. This desktop reference helps the acquirer determine whether they are buying a valuable asset or a potentially uncapped liability. Insightful and useful, this volume also helps frame the post-acquisition interconnection of cyber assets. It is an excellent companion piece to the ABA Cybersecurity Handbook, and other invaluable ABA publications and CLE programming." --Vincent Polley, Co-Chair, ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force In the Digital Era, ubiquitous connectivity has spared no enterprise the risks of being hacked from anywhere in the world. Whether the intruder's purpose is to steal, change, or destroy information, or to use its unauthorized access to harm and disrupt the enterprise's operations, the attackers have continued to increase their advantage over the defenders. Virtually all enterprises have been breached and their sensitive information compromised. The reality of this threat, coupled with the near total dependence of today's businesses on networked digital technology, presents a major risk of catastrophic consequences to most businesses. And acquiring or merging with any business involves taking on that risk. Thus, in any M&A transaction, an evaluation of the target's cybersecurity capabilities and experience is critical. This comprehensive and valuable guide, Guide to Cybersecurity Due Diligence in M&A Transactions is designed to assist companies and their counsel in assessing that risk. Beginning with an introduction to the importance of cybersecurity due diligence, the Guide explains to M&A counsel and their clients the key requirements of the cybersecurity due diligence process that should be part of every M&A transaction. This Guide can be read cover-to-cover, or used when counsel or clients want to get up to speed on specific issues, such as: The importance of cybersecurity due diligence for an M&A deal Lessons from recent cyber incidents including Nieman Marcus, Yahoo, Target Corporation, Sony Pictures, and Volkswagen Identifying a target's high-value digital assets Evaluating incident response capabilities, supply chain risks, or assessment of a target's resilience And much more!
This link opens in a new window
The Offensive Internet by
The Internet has been romanticized as a zone of freedom. The alluring combination of sophisticated technology with low barriers to entry and instantaneous outreach to millions of users has mesmerized libertarians and communitarians alike. Lawmakers have joined the celebration, passing the Communications Decency Act, which enables Internet Service Providers to allow unregulated discourse without danger of liability, all in the name of enhancing freedom of speech. But an unregulated Internet is a breeding ground for offensive conduct. At last we have a book that begins to focus on abuses made possible by anonymity, freedom from liability, and lack of oversight. The distinguished scholars assembled in this volume, drawn from law and philosophy, connect the absence of legal oversight with harassment and discrimination. Questioning the simplistic notion that abusive speech and mobocracy are the inevitable outcomes of new technology, they argue that current misuse is the outgrowth of social, technological, and legal choices. Seeing this clearly will help us to be better informed about our options. In a field still dominated by a frontier perspective, this book has the potential to be a real game changer. Armed with example after example of harassment in Internet chat rooms and forums, the authors detail some of the vile and hateful speech that the current combination of law and technology has bred. The facts are then treated to analysis and policy prescriptions. Read this book and you will never again see the Internet through rose-colored glasses.
Privacy, Information, and Technology by
A comprehensive and in-depth treatment of all the important information privacy issues.Features: An extensive and clear background about the law and policy issues relating to information privacy and computers, databases, and the Internet Coverage of government surveillance topics, such as Fourth Amendment, sensory enhancement technologies, wiretapping, computer searches, ISP records, the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act, and the USA-Patriot Act A thorough examination of new issues such as privacy and access to public records, government access to personal information, airline passenger screening and profiling, data mining, identity theft, consumer privacy, and financial privacy Several additional and new cases for coverage of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, the Privacy Act, and identity theft. Coverage of emerging information technologies such as computer databases, RFID, cookies, spyware, data mining, and others An introductory chapter with a thought-provoking philosophical discussion of information privacy Clear explanations of the law New to the Third Edition: Expanded coverage of new technology that has an impact on privacy,including social media, locational information and mobile telephony, and behavioral advertising Anonymous litigation Expanded coverage of privacy and contract issues Updated coverage of the NSA surveillance program cases, including Amnesty International USA v.Clapper New FTC cases, including Sears, Econometrixand Google Buzz NASA v. Nelson, a U.S. Supreme Court case regarding background questionnaires for employment and the constitutional right to information privacy Coverage of personally identifiable information Law enforcement access to GPS cases
Cybercrime and the Law by
The exponential increase in cybercrimes in the past decade has raised new issues and challenges for law and law enforcement. Based on case studies drawn from her work as a lawyer, Susan W. Brenner identifies a diverse range of cybercrimes, including crimes that target computers (viruses, worms, Trojan horse programs, malware and DDoS attacks) and crimes in which the computer itself is used as a tool (cyberstalking, cyberextortion, cybertheft, and embezzlement). Illuminating legal issues unique to investigations in a digital environment, Brenner examines both national law enforcement agencies and transnational crime, and shows how cyberspace erodes the functional and empirical differences that have long distinguished crime from terrorism and both from warfare.
Virtual Freedom by
Communications giants like Google, Comcast, and AT&T enjoy increasingly unchecked control over speech. As providers of broadband access and Internet search engines, they can control online expression. Their online content restrictions--from obstructing e-mail to censoring cablecasts--are considered legal because of recent changes in free speech law. In this book, Dawn Nunziato criticizes recent changes in free speech law in which only the government need refrain from censoring speech, while companies are permitted to self-regulate. By enabling Internet providers to exercise control over content, the Supreme Court and the FCC have failed to protect the public's right to access a broad diversity of content. Nunziato argues that regulation is necessary to ensure the free flow of information and to render the First Amendment meaningful in the twenty-first century. This book offers an urgent call to action, recommending immediate steps to preserve our free speech rights online.
Cyberlaw by
Presenting an emerging area of law, this book explores the legal doctrines and principles that apply to the operation and development of computer technology and the Internet. It discusses the rapid legislative and judicial responses, demanded by the creation of the new technology, to resolve legal problems of the emerging technology, covering: jurisdiction, constitutional issues, e-business, property rights, and cybercrime. For individuals interested in an introduction to constitutional and business law, as well as intellectual property.
Law and the Internet by
Following the very successful publication of their earlier book Law and the Internet (Hart Publishing,1997) the same editorial team have now assembled a number of specialist authors to write about those aspects of law which are of special importance to the burgeoning arena of electronic commerce. These issues can be grouped into three main sections, which is reflected in the organisation of this book- intellectual property; e-commerce; and content liability. Within these sections, each author provides an expert analysis of the underlying principles governing the law, an account of recent case law and policy developments, and a practical guide to the way the current law operates. This book will be essential reading for practitioners, teachers and students interested in internet law and practice.
Secrecy Wars by
The public and the media are fascinated by U.S. government secrets, real and imagined, yet very few people know how the process of obtaining formerly secret documents works. Secrecy Wars is a look inside the American secrecy system as it is accessed through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) and the Privacy Act. With its perspective that of a political legal drama, this important new book will not only entertain and inform but also influence the legal, journalism, and political communities.
Cyber Criminals on Trial by
As computer-related crime becomes more important globally, both scholarly and journalistic accounts tend to focus on the ways in which the crime has been committed and how it could have been prevented. Very little has been written about what follows: the capture, possible extradition, prosecution, sentencing and incarceration of the cyber criminal. Originally published in 2004, this book provides an international study of the manner in which cyber criminals are dealt with by the judicial process. It is a sequel to the groundbreaking Electronic Theft: Unlawful Acquisition in Cyberspace by Grabosky, Smith and Dempsey (Cambridge University Press, 2001). Some of the most prominent cases from around the world are presented in an attempt to discern trends in the handling of cases, and common factors and problems that emerge during the processes of prosecution, trial and sentencing.
Internet Law and Practice by
Also available on Westlaw (password required)
Law of Financial Privacy by 
Computer Crime, Information Warfare, and Economic Espionage by
This book presents a broad overview of computer and information crime. It first provides some technical background to allow an understanding of information protection law in a broader context. Then, presenting material on information protection policy, the book covers such topics as computer intrusions and attacks; computer viruses and other forms of "malicious code;" interception of electronic communications and search and seizure; online fraud; identity theft; infrastructure security; "hacktivism;" national security issues; economic espionage; and many more. With comments and questions that accompany each topic, Loundy uses a case-based approach. Articles discussing relevant technology are interspersed, and a detailed appendix includes relevant federal statutes and sample state statutes. A teacher's manual is also available.
 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. |
