Research Guides : Cyberlaw Decoded: Treatises

Comprehensive Research...

Remember: Use treatises to start your research! They provide broad scope and in-depth analysis of your topic, list abundant citations to primary sources, and contain commentary and practice tips from experts in the area of your research. They may lack legal authority, but rank very highly among secondary sources!

Advising eBusiness Includes chapters "Three Steps to Building a Successful E-commerce Company," "Understanding E-business Technology," "The Net Neutrality Debate" and others.
- This link opens in a new window
Complete Security Breach Notification Compliance Handbook (Ballon) Practical guidance for minimizing risk of loss when a security breach occurs, and deterring future security breaches.
- This link opens in a new window
Computer & Information Law Digest (Kemper) Comprehensive coverage, including sections on contracts for technology and Internet services, license and distribution agreements, fraud and computer-related torts, electronic transactions and communications, data disclosure and privacy, computer and internet crime.
- This link opens in a new window
Computer Law: Drafting & Negotiating Forms & Agreements
- This link opens in a new window
Includes contract law in the information age, computer contracting, patenting & licensing software, outsourcing, reselling, & more.
Computer Software: Protection, Liability, Law, Forms (Kutten & Wilf) Includes chapters on computer crime, law of cyberspace, law of databases, licensing, patent and trade secret protection of software.
- This link opens in a new window
Cybercrime and Security (Reich) Covers attacks on computers, electronic evidence, advance fee fraud, and protecting communications infrastructures from cyber criminals.
- This link opens in a new window
Cyberlaw: Intellectual Property in the Digital Millennium (Dratler & McJohn) "The definitive guide to the revolution in...law to accommodate the Internet." Explains the anti-circumvention and anti-trafficking rules of the DMCA, and discusses how various courts have failed to apply rules correctly to complex new technologies.
- This link opens in a new window
Data Security and Privacy Law (Weikers) Discusses the technology underlying cyberattacks and networks, technical security and privacy measures, and risk management strategies.
- This link opens in a new window
E-Commerce and Internet Law (Ballon) Print on Reserve: KF390.5 .C6B35 2009- Covers business-to-business and business-to-customer issues, regulatory issues, and emerging trends.
- This link opens in a new window
Emerging Technologies and the Law (Raysman et al) Addresses legal issues involving cross-technology transactions, including media formats, digital rights management, data storage, Internet traffic, TCP/IP (communication protocol for the Internet) and much more. Very technical and complete coverage.
- This link opens in a new window
Information Law (Nimmer)
(password required, Westlaw Next)
Analyzes legal issues pertaining to the treatment of information assets in modern commerce: intellectual property, copyright, FCC regulation, privacy, data protection.
Information Security & Privacy: a guide to Federal & State Law and Compliance (Serwin)
(password required, Westlaw Next)
Comprehensive guide covering all major U.S. laws, including genetic, financial and medical privacy, security breach, e-mail, FISA, and data security.

...Starts Here!

Internet & Online Law (Stuckey et al) Internet and Online Law includes coverage of: negotiating enforceable contracts and licenses; identifying legal and business issues in electronic commerce; limiting liability for online defamation and factual misstatements; avoiding criminal obscenity or indecency charges; complying with government regulations affecting Internet and online services; and special aspects of procedure, jurisdiction and other litigation issues. The book also discusses: the fundamental principles of the Copyright Act and the Patent Act relevant to online technology; regulatory and congressional reports on Internet telephony, universal service and access charges; privacy and encryption issues; and the impact of the Internet and other electronic means of communication on the obligations of issuers and other parties under securities laws. Contract issues explored include: application of common law; the U.C.C.; the Statute of Frauds; parol evidence; and electronic and 'shrinkwrap' agreements. Also covered are electronic signatures and authentication, trademark protection and domain names, legal consequences of owning a Web page or hosting a message board, and the value of warnings and disclaimers.
- This link opens in a new window
Internet Law & Practice (Fazio) Copyright Online-Distribution: The Federal Circuit in Milo & Gabby, LLC v. Amazon.com, Inc., addresses whether the online marketplace operator Amazon could be liable for copyright infringement if counterfeit goods were sold through its website. See § 12:12 Trademarks: The Supreme Court of Canada in Google Inc. v. Equustek Solutions Inc., orders Google to de-index from its search results all websites belonging to "Datalink" due to alleged counterfeit sales. See § 13:14 Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act (ACPA): The Fourth Circuit affirms Wagner v. Lindawagner.com, that absent bad faith, a business model that registers and sells domain names might not violate the ACPA. See § 14:7 Privacy Online-Medical or Health Information: The case of Nelson v. Commissioner of Social Security, involving personal health information that becomes public record in court orders in a Social Security case. See § 19:23 Social Media: Discussion of Fields v. Twitter, a California case filed by the family of American contractors who were murdered in Jordan, after the killer said he was "very moved" by a video ISIS posted on Twitter. See § 19:61 Public Forum Doctrine: A Virginia district court holds that a politician violated the First Amendment by banning a constituent from commenting on the politician's personal Facebook page. See § 24:6 Internet Access Rights: The Supreme Court's decision in Packingham v. North Carolina, striking down a state law prohibiting registered sex offenders from accessing social networking websites. See § 24:48 Crimes Online: The Colorado Supreme Court finds in Marsh v. People that "when a computer user seeks out and views child pornography on the internet, he possesses the images he views." See § 26:22 Federal Sentencing Guidelines: Completely revised and updated discussion of relevant sections of the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines. See § 26:26
- This link opens in a new window
Law of the Internet (Street & Grant) Internet law is changing almost as fast as technology itself -- making it vital to the success of your case that your research is based on all the latest laws and key decisions that interpret them.Law of the Internet is an easy-to-use resource written for busy practitioners like you, with summaries of major cases and statutes, and forms you can adapt to the specifics of your case. Stay ahead of the game with this annually-updated, treatise, which provides comprehensive analysis of legal issues raised by the Internet and insightful commentary on future directions the law may take.
- This link opens in a new window
Law & Business of Computer Software (Andresen) The 2017 edition of Law and Business of Computer Software provides updated information and case law to help guide in-house counsel and practitioners handling IT-related matters. Computer software and emerging technologies present new challenges for courts and regulators that may lead to innovative solutions. Law and Business of Computer Software 2017 addresses these issues, and many more. Several sections have been completely revised or replaced, and significant new cases are discussed in depth.
- This link opens in a new window
Law of Computer Technology (Nimmer) In Law of Computer Technology, an expert provides clear, current analysis of the rights, contracts, licenses, and liabilities associated with computer technology. It is organized into three major parts: Intellectual property issues (aspects of U.S. intellectual property law, including the law of copyrights, patents, trademarks, and trade secrets) Transactional issues (computer and computer-related technology and commercial transactions, with discussion of topics ranging from contract law and antitrust to sales, licensing, and free and open source software) Information age issues (emerging areas of the law that are of increasing importance such as computer crime, privacy and disclosure of information, computer error and use liability, and electronic publishing)
- This link opens in a new window
Law of Electronic Commerce (Winn & Wright) CCH Law of Electronic Commerce (Fourth Edition) is a treatise published by CCH and provides comprehensive coverage of laws and regulations governing electronic transactions. Note: Left-pane Table of Contents and Reading Mode not currently available for this publication.
- This link opens in a new window
Law of Electronic Surveillance (Carr & Bellia) The Law of Electronic Surveillance provides objective analysis of issues related to the government's gathering of evidence through electronic devices. Providing more than 2,500 case citations, it covers major developments and important cases. Key topics include
- This link opens in a new window
Law of the Internet (Delta & Matsuura) Law of the Internet, Fourth Edition is a two-volume legal resource covering electronic commerce and online contracts, privacy and network security, intellectual property and online content management, secure electronic transactions, cryptography, and digital signatures, protecting intellectual property online through link licenses, frame control and other methods, online financial services and securities transactions, antitrust and other liability. The authors demonstrate exactly how courts, legislators and treaties expand traditional law into the new context of the Internet and its commercial applications. The Law of the Internet also brings you up to date on all of the recent legal, commercial, and technical issues surrounding the Internet and provides you with the knowledge to thrive in the digital marketplace. Special features of this two-volume resource include timesaving checklists and references to online resources.
- This link opens in a new window
Scott on Information Technology Law Michael D. Scott offers a real-world perspective on structuring transactions involving computer products and services, torts, constitutional issues, computer and cybercrime, open source licensing, outsourcing of IT services and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Wiretapping & Eavesdropping: Surveillance in the Internet Age (Fishman) Tactics for criminal and civil practitioners in situations where Internet, computer, phone, or other monitored and recorded evidence issues arise.
- This link opens in a new window