Skip to Main Content

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: Bahamas

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.

The Bahamas

The Commonwealth of the Bahamas is a conglomeration of more than 700 islands, cays, and islets, making up a chain that runs between Florida and Cuba. It gained independence from the United Kingdom on July 10, 1973 and operates as a constitutional parliamentary democracy as part of the British Commonwealth. It adopted English Common Law as its legal system. HM Queen Elizabeth II acts as Head of State, appointing the Governor General who, with the Cabinet and Prime Minister, make up the executive branch. The judiciary uses English common law and includes the Court of Appeal of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas, the Supreme Court, and Magistrates courts.



Case Law

Research Guides

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.