Skip to Main Content

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: Cayman Islands

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.

Cayman Islands

Consisting of three islands south of Cuba in the Greater Antilles, the Cayman Islands are a British Overseas Territory led by a Governor, appointed by the Queen, and a unicameral Legislative Assembly led by the Governor-appointed Premier. The Judicial system has three levels--the Summary Court, Grand Court, and Court of Appeal--which can appeal to the Privy Council. The tax laws of the Cayman Islands are a draw for international business and the islands are known as a major banking and finance center. 



Case Law

Research Guides

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.