Skip to Main Content

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: British Virgin Islands

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.

British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands is a British Overseas Territory, self-goverened since 1967, with the Queen appointing a Governor responsible for administration of the British-owned portion of the Virgin Islands archipelago.  The judicial system is based on English Common law, with the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal falling under the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, which sends final appeals to the Privy Council in London. An elected Premier is in charge of the internal government, over a Cabinet of Ministers and the elected members of the House of Assembly.



Case Law

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.