Skip to Main Content

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: St. Vincent & the Grenadines

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.

St. Vincent & the Grenadines

St. Vincent and the Grenadines is a country made up of a chain of islands in the southern portion of the Windward Islands. After Britain and the West Indies Federation failed to unite the Windward Islands under a single government, St. Vincent gained independence and joined the Commonwealth of Nations on October 27, 1979. It operates as a constitutional monarchy, with the Queen appointing a Governor-General. Executive power rests with the elected Prime Minister and legislation is created by the 21-member House of Assembly, with 15 elected constitutencies and 6 appointed senators. The judiciary consists of district courts, which appeal to the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court and the Privy Council. 



Case Law

Research Guides

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.