Skip to Main Content

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: St. Lucia

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.

St. Lucia

St. Lucia is a sovereign island nation in the Comonwealth of Nations located in the Windward Islands in the Lesser Antilles. Like most Commonwealth nations, the appointed Governor-General represents the Queen, while executive power rests with the Prime Minister and cabinet. The legislative branch is run by the 17-member two-chambered House of Assembly. Because it was both a French and English colony before it gained independence on February 11, 1979, the legal system is a mix of civil and English common law. The judiciary is part of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court system; the headquarters of the Eastern Caribbean Surpeme Court is in Castries, St. Lucia's capital. 



Case Law

Research Guides

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.