Skip to Main Content

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: Barbados

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.


Among the southernmost of the Caribbean Islands in the Lesser Antilles, Barbados was a Spanish and British colony before it became a sovereign country in the Commonwealth on November 30, 1966. The Queen still serves as head of the constitutional monarchy, represented by a Governor-General. The Prime Minister leads a bicameral legislature, consisting of an appointed Senate and elected House of Assembly. As a parliamentary democracy based on English Common Law, the Magistrates Court, High Court, and Court of Appeal are headed by the Chief Justice of Barbados, but the Caribbean Court of Justice serves as the final court of appeal, rather than the Privy Council.



Case Law

Research Guides

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.