Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Commonwealth Caribbean Law Research Guide: Belize

This guide provides an overview of the primary and secondary legal sources of the Commonwealth Caribbean available at Florida State University College of Law Research Center.


Belize began as British Honduras, a colony on the northeastern coast of Central America, and continued on as a member of the British Commonwealth after gaining its independence on September 21, 1981. Like most commonwealth countries, the Queen of England acts as head of state with a Governor-General representing her. The bicameral National Assembly of Belize consists of a Senate, whose members are appointed by the Governor, and the elected House of Representatives. The legal system uses English Common Law, with the Magistrates' court and the Supreme Court appealling to the Court of Appeal and final appeals being heard at the Caribbean Court of Justice.



Case Law

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.